Jumping in head first - DDJ-SX or go big?

Default Jumping in head first - DDJ-SX or go big?

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum. Been lurking a few days and doing lots of reading. I'm sure you guys get a ton of these posts, but please be patient. Looking for some legit input and feedback.

Here is my deal. I've been creating music for over 20 years now. Started playing guitar and bass in jr. high. Still play regularly. About 10 years ago I started my journey into digital music and have made tons of stuff for my video work. I work in television M-F 9-???(whenever the work is done). Using a variety of tools over the years it's something I love to do - but typically only 20-30 audio projects a year and typically shorter pieces for commercials and show promos.

I can record in Pro Tools and typically end up in Logic. (OLD VERSION before Apple Destroyed it) and still use Sound Track Pro for certain things and it all ends up in Avid.

So, not even totally sure how I ended up here but I want to start DJing.

I've looked at just jumping in and going big with a full Nexus system - seems absurd I'm sure but in my mind it seems like the way to go if thats where you would want to end up eventually anyway.

However, common sense, and my wife set in and I started looking at less expensive options to at least get going and learn. I was all set on a little S4 until I did a bunch of research. I'm sure there are lots of happy users out there though. Still, some of those issues I just don't want to ever have to deal with.

OK, all that being said; I'm now leaning towards a DDJ-SX. I've read what I could find and watched a ton of youtube vids and I think this is a good way to start. However, my total lack of expeirnece leaves me wondering if there is a better way to go. Most of my "hobbies" stick around forever, and I make money with a lot of them. (Video, Photography, painting, animation) So I believe this will fit right into my little world of creativity.