help with DDJ SX and tractor
    Tech Convert

Default help with DDJ SX and traktor

Hello, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to DJ'ing. I have used Traktor Pro for a while now with my mouse and keyboard, and just got my DDJ SX. I absolutely dislike Serato DJ, therefore I want to get the Viper Mapping.
    I have however no clue how to load it into Traktor. Also, is it right I have to put my DDJ SX into a certain mode?

I looked and I kind of got it to work, however are the roll, slicer and sampler mode not working. I can't activate them. I feel like i did something wrong when trying to run the DDJ SX in the "pioneer utility modus". Also am I not sure how I am supposed to do that. Do I unplug the USB cable --> put ddj sx in standby --> hold play + shift --> start the ddj sx while holding it --> let go of play + shift --> connect usb cable --> start traktor and load midi file --> put ddj sx in standby mode to safe it --> turn it on again.... thats how i understood it but im not really sure if im doing it right

Help would be greatly appreciated as I am really frustrated right now :/
    Last edited by chiropracTOR; 04-25-2013 at 03:36 AM.

to set it to )other midi mode) power it off dissconnect the USB cable. now press shift+play while prowering on the DDJ SX when loaded see if the left temop range is lid, if it's not press it so it's lid. now power it of plug in the usb and power it back on. It's now ready for traktor.
    To import the viper TSI(mapper) go the preferance and at the butten are 3 buttons prees the import button. locate the viper tsi file.
    before you import the tsi make sure you uncheck the favorite option or all you favorit folder in the browser get set to Vipers folders.

now if you have a Mac you should be set to go. but if your on a Windows computer you will need to go into Preferance -> Controller manager and in the dropdown menu for devices you need to select each of the DDJ SX in the list and set the in-port out-port to ddj sx.