Noob question

Thread: Noob question

Default Noob question

Hey guys, I'm new to all this so please bare with me.

I recently bought my first piece of gear, but I'm having some trouble with it.

I bought the Pyle Pro PDJ450U, it's a rack mountable dual mp3/usb/sd player.

I just started fiddling with it today but some things are happening that I simply can't explain as to why.

I put some mp3's on a usb flash drive, stuck it in and began to play around with it. The functions all seem to work however the audio quality is quite poor and I can't figure out why. The tracks sound great from my computer to amp, but when I put those same tracks from my computer, onto a flash drive and try it on the unit(to the amp), the quality goes way down(it just sounds sort of thin, crackly, it's hard to explain, basically just like a low quality mp3). Am I doing something wrong here? I've tried a number of different tracks, different cables, so far nothing is fixing it. Any ideas? Thanks

Did you buy it used?

What flash drive are you using? Even though today almost any usb will suffice for digital djing with mp3s, yours may not be fast enough/ the player doesn't have enough buffer to completely load a song in it?
    It's just an EXTREMELY improbable situation..
    Did you buy it used? Did you check the gtound wire? Maybe the cables or interconnects are crap, tried any other output with any other cable?
    Quote Originally Posted by donstone View Post
    I only use VINYL flooring. Rugs are for cheaters.
    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    If you can't find an Abba song that you like, you are a liar of the highest order.

Tech Guru

What have you wired the Pyle up to?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB

Tech Mentor

I know it's probably a long shot but are your mp3s from some strange proprietary system like Serato Whitelabel?