[Dubstep] Am I talented enough to ever make it in the electronic music industry?
    Tech Wizard

Default Am I talented enough to ever make it in the electronic music industry?

Hi,

I've been a musician for 8 years. I have taught myself how to play the drums, guitar, bass and even have my own professionally recorded rock song on the go. In doing everything myself I have realized the massive undertaking I have engaged with. To be honest its very discouraging; paying 3 grand for a song and dealing sound engineers and writing and hiring people and doing all the marketing myself (not to mention, how would I ever play a gig?).

I have always been a fan of electronic music but had not considered the project until recently discovering all the trials involved with rock music coming solely from myself. I bought a Traktor S4 and FL Studio and a bunch of plug ins such as massive and decided to give it a try. I have managed to put out music but Im just not happy with it. I cant get a reaction out of most people and I feel like Im falling flat on my face. I feel like my music isn't as inspired as it could be and that I should just give up everything. Im incredibly discouraged at the moment. I feel like the Ill never be able to catch up to the industry heavy weights such as Dillon Francis, Skrillex, Deadmau5 etc.

Though I know its a high goal for someone that has only been at it for 3 months;I excel in one area of my life and that is music. I am a very talented rock artist strictly from being self taught and I feel like i could contribute good music if i was just not so bent out of shape.

Do you think its too far and i should quit while im ahead or do you think i should keep going?

Here is a link to a few of my songs. Don't hesitate to troll, I need a reality check

https://soundcloud.com/erick-samwise-samuelson

Thanks for your time and please reply with as many words as you can.

Tech Mentor

So I listened to "Old Kicks, New Tricks"