Come on be honest ...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Come on be honest ...

...... how many of you go out and just put a track on and hope for the best... live for the challenge ?

I love it, probably why i'm no proffesional DJ. I just love to put something on and see what i can do. I guess what i'm saying is quite often when i pick a track i have no idea if its gonna work or not.

How many others do this ... i think its excitin ... and the feeling you get when somethin works is frikkin brilliant.

can anyone relate ???

Maybe i'm stoopid and this was a stoopid thing to say but I'm buzzin after just havin a wikid session on the decks, i've only just really dicovered fader fx, never really used it before.

Anyway i just wondered as i often go out and see djs and think "well that didnt really work that well or surely that wasnt planned" so are alot of us doing this and getting away with it even the pros?

any thoughts ?
    M I S T E R M O L E Y M O L E
    part of the digital revolution

haha well when i practice i do this all the time i find it fun and interesting just having a song going then selecting a random song (but a song that is in that style or genre) and see how i can pull off a cool creative mix and yeah when you pull it off you feel awesome
    Gear: Macbook Pro 13" , Traktor Scratch Pro, VCI-100 Arcade, PIONEER HDJ 2000, CDJ 400's, Audio 8, Midifighter

Tech Guru

depends the situation.. if i'm at home experimenting than it's pretty much a requirement to get any work done, trial and error. How else would people do it?

DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar

Yeah I do this all the time when practicing at home, but I have to be pretty in the zone to consider doing something Ive never done before to a crowd.

But thats more with technique, rather than my song selection