Question about a mixer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    193

    Default Question about a mixer

    Hi there! Well, I've been looking to buy a 4-Channel Mixer lately and the one that surprised me was the Behringer NOX606 (I know, I know, Behringer uses to be shit). It has 4-EQs, two mics, FXs... There are a few questions I had about it:

    1. How does the USB soundcard work? Can you run each channel of your software like Traktor into each channel on the NOX606 or you can only output the sound from the computer to one channel?
    2. Can you hook an effects module? like the Kaoss pad 3 or the RMX1000
    3. Is the 4-band EQ very different than the 3-band EQ? I've seen it in the Allen & Heath's ones and people say it's awesome, but in a Behringer Mixer? whatever.
    4. If you had to chose between the Behringer NOX606 and the American Audio 14MXR, which one would you pick? I saw the American Audio for 250 and the Behringer for 270 or 330 (prices always change).

    Thanks a lot guys!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    1. No. The USB interface is assignable to Channel 1 ONLY. So you can play audio from a USB source through the mixer (Channel 1 only).

    2. Yes. All channels have got 2 (TWO!) sends.

    3. Yes. 4-band eq's are very different to 3-band eq's. A whole eq different.

    4. NOX 606 every day of the week. That AA mixer is Fugly, man, and you'll have MUCH MORE fun with the 606.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    1. No. The USB interface is assignable to Channel 1 ONLY. So you can play audio from a USB source through the mixer (Channel 1 only).

    2. Yes. All channels have got 2 (TWO!) sends.

    3. Yes. 4-band eq's are very different to 3-band eq's. A whole eq different.

    4. NOX 606 every day of the week. That AA mixer is Fugly, man, and you'll have MUCH MORE fun with the 606.
    Thanks for the fast reply! I see a big problem: If you can only route one channel, that's sh*t, because I thought of not buying an interface... Is there any alternative?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    Nope. You MUST buy an interface if you want your computer to output to more than one channel. That's what audio interfaces do!

    Only SUPER expensive mixers have a built in interface.

    The good news is, we were just talking about a great (cheap!) audio interface that will do the job perfectly:

    http://www.esi-audio.com/products/maya44usb+/

    It can be had for around 80. That, plus the NOX 606, would be a pretty damn fine set-up...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Nope. You MUST buy an interface if you want your computer to output to more than one channel. That's what audio interfaces do!

    Only SUPER expensive mixers have a built in interface.

    The good news is, we were just talking about a great (cheap!) audio interface that will do the job perfectly:

    http://www.esi-audio.com/products/maya44usb+/

    It can be had for around 80. That, plus the NOX 606, would be a pretty damn fine set-up...
    That thing seems cool as f*ck! Where can I buy it? Juno? Thomann? I live in europe

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,401
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Thanksssss a lot!!!! Btw now that i've found this: what would you pick? Nox606 or DDM4000? Thanks again!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    Tough one. I have the DDM4K and love it. It's awesome.

    I honestly don't know what I'd choose between the 606 and the 4K...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Tough one. I have the DDM4K and love it. It's awesome.

    I honestly don't know what I'd choose between the 606 and the 4K...
    Does the 4k have individual channel filters?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,401

    Default

    No. But it has 2 freely assignable FX units, so you could assign filters to any 2 channels at once...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •