Repair RAM permissions on a mac ? (how to free up ram ?)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Repair RAM permissions on a mac ? (how to free up ram ?)

    Hi, so I have an early 2011 MBP with 4 GB of RAM but without really doing a lot I'm already using up 2,34 GB.

    I think it's really starting to affect the performance.

    How can I make my machine faster again ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Era 7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Inside your speaker
    Posts
    695

    Default

    add more ram?

  3. #3

    Default

    Reboot?
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Era 7 View Post
    add more ram?
    Pretty sure I can solve this or at least make it better without eating away at my vinyl budget. I just don't know how.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdcdesign View Post
    Reboot?
    Thought so too but I didn't really do much.

  5. #5

    Default

    Well tbh we're gonna need more information to really help... for example, what do you have running when it's utilizing 2GB of RAM?

    I should point out by the way, that that's not actually a BAD thing. RAM is supposed to be used by running applications.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  6. #6
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Chrome and itunes, seems a bit excessive to take up 2 GB and it barely drops when I quit applications.

    It's just a problem because the laptop feels slow in general. And it 'd be nice to give it a speed boost without spending money.

    Some guy on the forum said he repaired his RAM permissions and it made it a big difference, but that was a while back.

  7. #7

    Default

    There's no such thing as "RAM permissions", you must be thinking of Disk Permissions, but that has nothing to do with RAM.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  8. #8
    Tech Guru MyUsername's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdcdesign View Post
    There's no such thing as "RAM permissions", you must be thinking of Disk Permissions, but that has nothing to do with RAM.
    I know what disk permissions is. And RAM permissions are the exact words he used.

    So the only way to speed my computer up is to get more RAM or an SSD ?

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Computers will make use of as much RAM as possible in order to speed up general operation, especially if you have a standard HDD. Unless you're actually getting close to running out of RAM, there's nothing to worry about.

    The slow performance is probably due to all the things you've installed onto the machine.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  10. #10
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,672

    Default

    Chrome and itunes, seems a bit excessive to take up 2 GB and it barely drops when I quit applications.
    Flash Player EATS up ram and will not release it, so if you've been watching youtube videos you will be pretty screwed.

    You can free up unused ram by going into Applications > Utiities > Terminal

    Open Terminal and type "purge" (without quotes) and press enter.

    Dont do this during a gig as everything freezes for about 30 seconds.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •