Im new to DJing. What do I need to know?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Im new to DJing. What do I need to know?

Yes, this is going to be a long-winded thread, but if you are new, or just starting out, READ ALL OF IT. Reading this will not only help you start on your journey, but will also help avoid any flaming coming your way.

“Im just starting out and want to be a DJ. Where do I begin?”

First and foremost: Read as much as possible on this forum and others as well.

Things you must first understand before spending your hard earned money on gear.

- Djing is not the cheapest hobby.
    - Understand the difference between Djing, controllerism and turntablism.
    - Understand the difference between Djing and producing. If you want to make tracks, you want to be a producer. If you want to play other people tracks, you want to be a DJ.
    Know why you are wanting to be a DJ. Is it to impress your friends or a guy/girl, to be able to mix and remix the tracks that you already enjoy, become a club DJ performing for a large group, become a house party DJ perfoming for a small group or to be a hobby DJ mixing in your bedroom?
    - Understand that this is a competitive business filled with wannabe, established and professional Djs all competing for the same jobs.
    - Understand that fame is not going to come easily or quickly unless you put in countless hours honing your skills. It will not happen overnight, or in the next 2 months. All of the “famous” Djs you see and hear have put in more time practicing than you sleep every week, and have worked hard to get where they are.
    - Understand that just because the DJ at your local club may not be the best, the club owner/promoter has a vested interest in the DJ, and you will not be able to take his spot with a mixtape alone. Clubs are in the business of making money, and filling their establishment. If you cannot bring in a crowd, the chances of you being considered are very low.