why cant i just use a controller and mix without being hassle?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1

    Default why cant i just use a controller and mix without being hassle?

    its just a random topic on controllerism vs people who uses tt and cdjs. the topic might have been covered before but seriously can i just concentrate on using controllers alone without being questioned and going through critisms with how easy using a software can be, with just a touch of a synch button but if its gets your mix right why not. i would love to get my hands on a pair of cdjs but if only my mommy and daddy is rich hell yeah id love a pair pioneer cdj1000mk3 and djm800 but in reality all i can afford right now is a controller im just wondering how you all feel regarding this?
    Last edited by Pollux#13; 09-15-2009 at 02:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor kelsey7k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    dallas.tx.usa
    Posts
    216

    Default

    eh...turntable djs said the same thing about cdjs 5 or so years ago. just do what you do...if you're good, it'll show, whatever you're using.

  3. #3

    Default

    Init !!! its all about track selection anyway. Ive got a controller and a sync button and i cant pull off mixes like the pros !! Tell 'em "DO ONE!!!!"
    M I S T E R M O L E Y M O L E
    part of the digital revolution

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pollux#13 View Post
    and going through critisms with how easy using a software can be, with just a touch of a synch button but if its gets your mix right why not.
    I've been watching a couple of DJs close up now and what I've noticed is: They use their CDJ in a similar way I use Traktor Pro. That is: Fully automated. They tap in the tempo, cue the song, that's it.

    Actually, even my DJM500 has BPM detection included, of course it cannot sync my turntables automatically, but it's helpful nevertheless.

    For me, using the sync button in Traktor Pro is just the logical consequence:

    a) use nothing
    b) use a bpm detection
    c) tap in the tempo
    d) pre-determine the tempos of your songs and use sync.

    In fact, getting the grids right in Traktor Pro can be a lot of work. So CDJ DJs to me seem more lazy in a way :-)

  5. #5

    Default

    ure right preparation of the tracks in beatgridding is lotsa work but this makes you know your tracks better. seriously for me i really enjoy using traktor pro and controllers personally its just very convenient.

  6. #6

    Default

    it all comes down to what works for YOU.
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard audiomontana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    montana,
    Posts
    63

    Default

    just tell them that software is ultimately more professional and difficult because it is open ended, upgradeable, and leads the user to develope skills that can be utilized in other areas of music technologey.
    all these colors all this metal all this colored mental .. is just sun.

  8. #8

    Default

    can you tap in the tempo on a cdj ?
    M I S T E R M O L E Y M O L E
    part of the digital revolution

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    We still get the odd person saying using the computer is cheating etc. Just hand the phones over to them and let them try a couple of tracks, that will shut them up. Don't worry guys, in two years that whole argument will be long forgotten. peace
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor TreTuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Tahoe
    Posts
    281

    Default

    I'm still an advocate of using TTs for DJing... but I understand the improvements of digital technology, and that's why I have a completely hybrid setup. I hate people that are close minded on what new things are out there and how they can help the progression of the DJ art form all together.

    You will always be hassled for doing something differently that has had a tradition already set forth. I was one of these people for a brief period until I took control of traktor for myself.... Using all those wonderful files on my computer on my vinyl turntables, oh is it a wonderful thing... Don't let them get you down!
    Tre Tuna
    DJ and Recording and Mixing engineer for live and studio sound
    Traktor Pro 2.7.1 | MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz 4gigs ram
    Stanton STR8-150s | Ortofon Q-Bert Carts
    NI Z2, F1, Machine MK I, RigKontrol 3 | Dicers | PadKontrol

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •