In-Ear Headphones vs. Headphones
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default In-Ear Headphones vs. Headphones

After reading the latest article on which brand of headphones are best, I began to wonder if in-ear headphones are a thing of the past. I'm fairly new to Dj'ing, and have yet to buy anything as far as headphones are concerned and am curious what y'all think. What is most important to me personally is having a pair of in ear or regular headphones that will either completely eliminate or minimize the damage dealt to my hearing once I start to work in the 110 + Decibel range while at the same time giving me decent sound quality

Tech Mentor

sure in ears have the advantage of size and an isolation that most standard ones will not achieve, however, most dj headphones are not built to entirely close anyway.
    Personally I don`t like the feel of in-ears and the risk to blow your ears with them is quite high too

Yeah, the chance of blowing out your ears is a big risk with in-ears.... Personally I wear earplugs whenever I play in places that are louder then about 100dB, which of course is any club. I'm also an audio engineer so my ears are my livelihood in my business. I definitely recommend a good set of cans rather then the in-ears...
    Tre Tuna
    DJ and Recording and Mixing engineer for live and studio sound
    Traktor Pro 2.7.1 | MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.5ghz 4gigs ram
    Stanton STR8-150s | Ortofon Q-Bert Carts
    NI Z2, F1, Machine MK I, RigKontrol 3 | Dicers | PadKontrol

how do you blow your ears with in ears? i dont get it. blowing means damaging? how does an in-ear damage more than another headphone at the same volume?

Tech Mentor

the sound levels are more concentrated. sound is pushed directly into the ear canal.