Beatgridding a Live Mix in Ableton
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Christian Crush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    102

    Default Beatgridding a Live Mix in Ableton

    I am using a set up with 4 traktor decks routed into ableton to record a mix and i have finished recording but the issue i am having is that i did not sync ableton to traktor when recording so now that i am trying to edit my mix in ableton the bpm changes are not recorded. What i am looking for is a better way to beat grid my mix than finding the bpms at points in the mix and penciling them in. Is there any way to automate the bpm while tapping along to the mix?? Thanks in advance
    CC

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mechanicville NY
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Crush View Post
    I am using a set up with 4 traktor decks routed into ableton to record a mix and i have finished recording but the issue i am having is that i did not sync ableton to traktor when recording so now that i am trying to edit my mix in ableton the bpm changes are not recorded. What i am looking for is a better way to beat grid my mix than finding the bpms at points in the mix and penciling them in. Is there any way to automate the bpm while tapping along to the mix?? Thanks in advance
    CC
    are you just using ableton to record the mix?
    If so, you should just export the final mix "unwarped"
    That way Ableton will not try to figure out the BPM of the mix and it will sound proper when exported.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor MRG12EG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK BABY
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Crush View Post
    I am using a set up with 4 traktor decks routed into ableton to record a mix and i have finished recording but the issue i am having is that i did not sync ableton to traktor when recording so now that i am trying to edit my mix in ableton the bpm changes are not recorded. What i am looking for is a better way to beat grid my mix than finding the bpms at points in the mix and penciling them in. Is there any way to automate the bpm while tapping along to the mix?? Thanks in advance
    CC

    i dont fully understand what your saying but maybe this might help..

    you can sync traktors and ableton midi clocks (search youtube dubspot have a good video)
    if you havnt already you need to "warp" your ableton tracks.. (plenty vids on you tube)

    here you go ive done your leg work

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Christian Crush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    102

    Default

    While i was recording i was just using ableton to record into but now i am trying to edit my mix within ableton. Im resampling some parts, adding delays and reverbs, and the problem is ableton is unaware of the bpm changes during the mix so now while im editing all my effects are out of time and i have to go solely go off the wav forms when resampling which just takes alot longer to do.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor MRG12EG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK BABY
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Crush View Post
    While i was recording i was just using ableton to record into but now i am trying to edit my mix within ableton. Im resampling some parts, adding delays and reverbs, and the problem is ableton is unaware of the bpm changes during the mix so now while im editing all my effects are out of time and i have to go solely go off the wav forms when resampling which just takes alot longer to do.
    ableton will just record it as audio with no automation... so to detect the bpm your going to have to warp your whole mix.

    if you want to "programme" a mix your probably best just to use ableton as you will have greater control and full automation will be recorded and can be edited...

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Christian Crush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    102

    Default

    So my only option would be to warp the entire mix and draw in the bpm changes? i dont want to just program a mix, im trying to find a set up where i can record a live mix and then edit my mistakes and maybe add a little depth to it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •