Need help purchasing gear!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need help purchasing gear!

Hey Guys

I'm relatively new to mixing and being a DJ.
    Currently I'm running a NI S4, however there are two pieces of equipment I need help deciding on.

Monitors-
    Im looking to buy a set of studio monitors, money is limited so what would a decent monitor for a lower price be?

Controller-
    Looking to buy something like a NI f1, midi fighter, or novation Launchpad to help me mash up songs, any input on this?

Thanks a ton
    -Brendan

Tech Guru

Head to your local GC and find a pair of monitors that fit your ears best. Sound is very subjective.

I really like Yamaha HS series while other people like KRKs, Mackies, etc.

If you want Remix Deck, go for either the F1 or the MF.

Quote Originally Posted by SlvrDragon50 View Post
    Head to your local GC and find a pair of monitors that fit your ears best. Sound is very subjective.

Will definitely check out the monitors

In terms of remix decks, which is the best of the MF
    What are the pro's and con's of both the MF and F1

Thanks,
    Brendan

Tech Mentor

I can vouch for all these brands, although I have not used monitors from mackie, only bigger speakers.

In my experience, the KRKs are more pleasing to listen on, but not as flat as the HS series. The KRKs feel nicer for listening and DJing on, partly because I'm not using a sub and they have a bit of bass. For producing, the HS would be better I'd say. not sureif thats your interest.