Beginner buying his first digital DJ setup. Is this setup good?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    toka

Default Beginner buying his first digital DJ setup. Is this setup good?

Hello,

Im a beginner DJ and will start learning. I currently own a Macbook Pro laptop which i will run Traktor on.

Im planning to buy this equipment to start to learn with:

FOCUSRITE SCARLETT 2I4 Audio Interface

NUMARK M 2 2 Channel mixer

NATIVE INSTRUMENTS TRAKTOR KONTROL X1

Is this enough to start learning on and go more professionally on after a while? My budget is 450 EUR.

Please advice.

Tech Guru

Looks good. You might be better off with a Traktor Audio 2 which includes Traktor Pro, unless you specifically need the extra IO on the 2i4.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB

Tech Mentor

i don't know that soundcard, but for a lower price you can get a traktor audio 2 that simply has 2 outputs (all you need for the setup you have listed).
    otherwise, think about maybe getting an audio 4 (about the same price as the scarlett i think), it will give you the possibility to add turntables or cdjs with timecode later as it is scratch-certified.
    the x1 is a lovely piece of gear, but you might want to wait some weeks with your purchase as the x1 mk2 is literally just around the corner. also check out the beringer cmd series for modular midi controllers.

don't know anything about the mixer, but seems to be a legit 2-channel mixer with everything you need to start out.
    Macbook Pro, TP 2.6, 2* Kontrol X1, A&H xone:92, NI Maschine, 2* KRK Rokit 5s, Sennheiser HD 25-II
    http://www.mixcloud.com/_volpe/

toka