routing Maschine MK2 through Ableton 8.4.1
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    95

    Default routing Maschine MK2 through Ableton 8.4.1

    the maschine doesn't even pop up in the midi controls.. is my version of ableton too old?

    is there something i'm missing?

    there has to be a way... i've downloaded so many templates, searched this forum, searched youtube... can't figure it out.

    please help!!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Use Soundflower. Choose Soundflower as the audio device for the Maschine software and as the input for Ableton's audio device.

    Alternatively, you could just run Maschine as a VST in Ableton.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,100

    Default

    Well what exactly do you want to do? Just be able to use Maschine as a MIDI controller to control parameters within Ableton?

    Let me know if this does(or doesn't) work.
    To just have it control parameters ->

    1) Make sure Maschine is in MIDI mode before turning on Ableton.
    - To do this just hit Shift+Control on the Maschine.

    2) Open up Ableton live, arm the track you want to control with Maschine.

    3) Open up the I/O & select Maschine Virtual Input.

    This should allow you to use Maschine as a MIDI controller.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Coldfuzion View Post
    Well what exactly do you want to do? Just be able to use Maschine as a MIDI controller to control parameters within Ableton?

    Let me know if this does(or doesn't) work.
    To just have it control parameters ->

    1) Make sure Maschine is in MIDI mode before turning on Ableton.
    - To do this just hit Shift+Control on the Maschine.

    2) Open up Ableton live, arm the track you want to control with Maschine.

    3) Open up the I/O & select Maschine Virtual Input.

    This should allow you to use Maschine as a MIDI controller.


    I just want the maschine output audio to be routed into an ableton track. Seems like it should be easy. I've found a lot of videos. Last night I got maschine mk2 to pop up in my midi ... But I'm still unable to route the audio into ableton from maschine

  5. #5
    Tech Guru botstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    LA / NYC
    Posts
    1,372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unclejessie View Post
    I just want the maschine output audio to be routed into an ableton track. Seems like it should be easy. I've found a lot of videos. Last night I got maschine mk2 to pop up in my midi ... But I'm still unable to route the audio into ableton from maschine
    http://cycling74.com/products/soundflower/

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    142

    Default

    if you run it as a vst inside live then you can route the audio & midi bi-directionally into live.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •