Kontrol S4/Mac/TP2 Audio Routing
    Tech Guru

Default Kontrol S4/Mac/TP2 Audio Routing

MODS: Apologies for the same post in different sections, trying to widen the audience

Evening all,

I've finally switched my venerable PC desktop to an iMac (2009), but still retaining the Win7 lappy for gigs.

I'm new to MacOS but very familiar with troubleshooting PC audio routing, and I've done the usual search for topics regarding Mac/S4/Audio/Routing however I can't quite find the solution to what seems a simple audio routing setup. For late night (i.e. no monitor use) broadcasting purposes I tend to use the following routing (Win7):

S4 USB Port > PC USB2.0 Port
    S4 RCAs > 3.5mm jack PC Soundcard input i.e. line in
    PC H/Phone Out (3.5mm jack) > Headphones

In terms of Audio Setup in TP2: Audio Device set to 'Traktor Kontrol S4' and the Built-In Soundcard set to 'Kontrol S4 WDM Audio' i.e. shared.

This results in a lovely blue speaker icon at the top of the TP2 window.

Basically with the Win7 setup listed above I'm able to control/play audio in TP2 from the S4 to PC Line In, broadcast this input, and monitor the output from the PC headphone output... lovely jubbly, happy Backtothefront

So forwarding on to the Mac:

I've set up the physical connections similarly to the PC config above i.e.

S4 USB > iMac USB Port
    S4 RCAs > 3.5mm jack to iMac Line In
    iMac Headphones Out > Headphones

Within TP2 the Audio Device is set to Kontrol S4, however the speaker icon at top of the TP2 window is orange which obviously identifies a audio routing problem. I've checked within Sys Prefs in MacOS which is seeing an audio signal correctly to Line In however I cannot hear any audio out of the Mac built in speakers/headphones (when connected). Within TP2 itself the audio appears to be playing correctly, with exception of the 'orange lit speaker icon'.