Denon sc3900
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Denon sc3900

  1. #1

    Default Denon sc3900

    Hey all I picked up a pair of denon sc3900s about 2 months ago but haven't really played with them till recently. I just have a question regarding their cue points. I noticed that on these tables when running in hybrid mode " to run with sl4" when I press the cue point if the platter is not moving or I have not previously pressed the play button it will only load to the cue point but not start the track. I know on the pioneer u can use the cues as kindly a pad style DJ set up and also even down to a system like the Numark v7 controller if u just hold the hot cue button it will start playing from that point . So I guess my question is is it it possible to set these hot cues to start the track or use as a pad style system where I can just set cue points on a track and hold the hot cue as long as I need to to sample the little section I want with out having to press the play button. And canu use the 3900 to use as a pad style system

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Transport/playback is handled by the timecode signal when you're using Hybrid mode. You can use plain MIDI if you want the behavior you're looking for.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3

    Default

    Ok so would I just need to put in the time code CD and then run it in midi and it will work? Can I still use it with Serato?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor spencer4hire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Hey all I picked up a pair of denon sc3900s about 2 months ago but haven't really played with them till recently.
    I don't understand this. If I had a pair of SC39000s I wouldn't see daylight. : )

    Okay to answer your question. So this is how Serato natively handles cue points. Plug your SL4 into some turntable decks and press Cue. You'll see it does the same thing unless the decks are already playing. If you want them to play you'll have to go to internal mode- so just hit those F-keys when you want to juggle.

  5. #5

    Default

    I'm confused with internal mode and the f key as I just started using this product. Please clarify and thanks so much for your help

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You can also use the SC 3900s in pretty much any other software without the need for an additional interface if they can't be used as MIDI controllers in SSL.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Mentor spencer4hire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Check out page 36 of your SL4 manual, http://www.rane.com/pdf/sl4manual250.pdf

    F1 (L) Switch deck to ABS mode (R) F6
    F2 (L) Switch deck to REL mode (R) F7
    F3 (L) Switch deck to INT mode (R) F8

    Also check out page 16 for explanations between Absolute, Relative and Internal modes.

  8. #8

    Default

    But if I'm running in internal mode I can no longer control the deck with the platter correct?

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor spencer4hire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    110

    Default

    This is correct. There is no other option. Either you are controlling your deck and cue points within the computer or you're controlling them on the deck..

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor spencer4hire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Essentially if you want to control a cue with your platter you'll need to figure out how to make the SC39000 start when you press the 1-4 cue buttons on the Denon.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •