Buying new Laptop.. So confused don't know what to do.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor teambama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    237

    Default Buying new Laptop.. So confused don't know what to do.

    I've ran a ASUS PC & TSP2 for around 2 years now. I'm running a traktor Z2 as my primary soundcard although I have an A6 & A10. I'll be using the new laptop for DJing & production only. TSP2, Maschine & Ableton

    I currently have 3tb of music on 4 different hard drives all HD's are PC formatted.

    If I buy a PC do I get Windows 8 or Windows 7 ultimate? Then there is the USB 3 issue?

    If I was to buy a mac this is the only one I could afford. I need 15 inch because I run 4 decks sometimes.
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/FD...-core-intel-i7

    For the same price check out the specs of this ASUS
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...FZRj7Aodh2MAHg

    Has anyone recently bought a new PC & have any thoughts or comments on their purchase? If I only spent 1k on a new PC I'd be really happy. Just not sure what to do?

    Sorry to post another MAC/PC post...

    thanks
    jeff
    2x Technics SL-12000 mk2 / 2x Numark HDX
    Kontrol Z2 / Ecler Nuo 3 / Custom Vestax 07Pro 25th Anniversary, Blue Led's & integrated Audio 6 / Numark DXM06 w/innofader
    Novation Dicer / NI Maschine / Kontrol X1 / F1
    TSP2

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor teambama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Will I have an issue with my current beatgrids, cuepoints, Playlists ect changing over from a PC to a MAC?
    2x Technics SL-12000 mk2 / 2x Numark HDX
    Kontrol Z2 / Ecler Nuo 3 / Custom Vestax 07Pro 25th Anniversary, Blue Led's & integrated Audio 6 / Numark DXM06 w/innofader
    Novation Dicer / NI Maschine / Kontrol X1 / F1
    TSP2

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor teambama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teambama View Post
    Will I have an issue with my current beatgrids, cuepoints, Playlists ect changing over from a PC to a MAC?
    I guess this is my real question now & the deciding factor moving over to a MAC.

    Thanks
    Jeff
    2x Technics SL-12000 mk2 / 2x Numark HDX
    Kontrol Z2 / Ecler Nuo 3 / Custom Vestax 07Pro 25th Anniversary, Blue Led's & integrated Audio 6 / Numark DXM06 w/innofader
    Novation Dicer / NI Maschine / Kontrol X1 / F1
    TSP2

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    446

    Default

    I'm certainly no computer guy, but from what I know, you'd be way better off going with an i7 laptop and upgrading the RAM and HD yourself. There are some Win7/i7 machines going for around $500 if you look hard enough. RAM will run you about $75 and an SSD about $200. You may even be able to find something with a dedicated GFX card in that price range as well. That should help performance in Traktor.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,667

    Default

    The 15' retina at that price is a darn good deal and will be speedy as hell!

    You may even be able to find something with a dedicated GFX card in that price range as well. That should help performance in Traktor.
    That wont make a single bit of difference to Traktor

    IMHO you might find switching arkward at first but the majority of people I know could not imagine switching back after using a Mac for a few weeks

    I guess this is my real question now & the deciding factor moving over to a MAC.
    So far as I know you can just copy the NI folder across from the Win PC to the Mac.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor teambama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Thanks Deevey
    2x Technics SL-12000 mk2 / 2x Numark HDX
    Kontrol Z2 / Ecler Nuo 3 / Custom Vestax 07Pro 25th Anniversary, Blue Led's & integrated Audio 6 / Numark DXM06 w/innofader
    Novation Dicer / NI Maschine / Kontrol X1 / F1
    TSP2

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    64

    Default

    For what it's worth, a 'MAC' is a PC.

    Your beatgrids etc will stay intact if you migrate because they get stored in the ID3 tags of the music files, if I'm not mistaken. I've had better luck with OS X than with Windows, but then again your mileage may vary.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pleb View Post
    For what it's worth, a 'MAC' is a PC.

    Your beatgrids etc will stay intact if you migrate because they get stored in the ID3 tags of the music files, if I'm not mistaken. I've had better luck with OS X than with Windows, but then again your mileage may vary.
    This is correct. Assuming all the mp3s are ID3 tagged, beatgrid/cuepoints and such will all be stored and transfer over fine.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pleb
    Your beatgrids etc will stay intact if you migrate because they get stored in the ID3 tags of the music files, if I'm not mistaken.
    I think you ARE mistaken.

    I'm pretty sure the beatgrid info is held in the Traktor Collection...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    I think you ARE mistaken.

    I'm pretty sure the beatgrid info is held in the Traktor Collection...

    Quote Originally Posted by dfinch805 View Post
    This is correct. Assuming all the mp3s are ID3 tagged, beatgrid/cuepoints and such will all be stored and transfer over fine.

    Okay now I'm confused, haha.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •