trance classifications
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default trance classifications

Hi guys! I'm having a hard time categorizing my trance collection. I have many tracks which I can kind of group but I don't know how to call them, genre-wise. Is there a text about that somewhere? How do you categorize your trance tunes, or is it all trance to you?

The hardest thing for me is to differentiate between Uplifting, Euphoric and Classic Trance. And: Is everything with vocals in it really called "vocal trance"?

Some examples:

Which generes would you attach to these?

Thanks!
    Last edited by rkiesler; 09-21-2009 at 02:17 AM.
    my DJing stuff: http://dj.kiesler.at/

Hey mate, well i've been listening to trance for over 16 years, and no matter what bullshit sub-genres people start calling it, its still just trance to me. Check out this site tho, only a generalisation of genres but cool nonetheless.
    http://techno.org/electronic-music-guide/music.swf
    At the most i'll categorise it as: Euro Trance, Progressive Trance, And Psychedelic Trance. Just my opinion tho mate.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

btw most of the tracks in your list are either euro or prog trance
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

why not group them based on warm-up, peak and end of night? maybe a couple of groups in between. tried that once with breaks and found they mostly did drop into the sub-genres at the same time.
    or group based on preference?