Kontrol Z2 questions
    Tech Convert

Default Kontrol Z2 questions

I am considering buying a Kontrol Z2 but i have a few questions first. I dont understand what it means by 2 + 2 tracks, and also if its good to go with Technic 1200 mk2s. And if anybody has any other opinions on mixers let me know. (I am a young beginning club DJ so i only need two tracks). and if is anyone is selling one $500 and under let me know! if you in the US that be a whole lot easier.)

Tech Guru

It has 2 main channels with full EQ, as well as two knobs for controlling volume on 2 additional software channels from Traktor.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB

Tech Convert

Default Reply

Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    It has 2 main channels with full EQ, as well as two knobs for controlling volume on 2 additional software channels from Traktor.
    Im new to DJ'ing so what exactly does full EQ mean, and what are the software channels(are they like something on the computer?)

I use a Kontrol Z2 with my 1200s! I love it.

Tech Wizard

it looks like a 2 channel battle mixer, but the knobs above the cue pads for deck a and b are essentialy your channelfader/gain for respectivly decks c and d. you can easily switch your pads to these decks if you want to use them for cuepoint/loops with a normal deck or the above row of your remix decks (I guess you can map em deeper with the latest patch even).

keep in mind this in only for traktor, so it's not really a 4channel mixer like say a pioneer djm 700 since decks c and d have no physical inputs, altho I can bet you can create a third channel through the mic if you want to get creative.