VDJ Sandbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: VDJ Sandbox

  1. #1

    Default VDJ Sandbox

    http://djworx.com/sandboxing-comes-to-virtual-dj-8/

    Sounds like an interesting idea. Think it will be practical? How long would you have to be in the mix with those 2 songs in order for this to be useful?
    2 x CDJ 850 | Kontrol S4 | A&H Xone XD-53's | A&H Xone K2 | Kontrol X1 | Kontrol F1 | DJM 900nxs

  2. #2
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    I think it's only really good to be able to set your cue points while the track is playing meaning you could prep the track the first time you hear it without having to ever stop the playing track. The other uses seem a bit weak... as a dj you really should know what you are playing in front of a crowd.

    Hopefully there will be a real teaser from the dj expo though explaining a little bit more.

    It says the wider beta is opening up in the article through... I can't wait to see if any of my many suggestions made it through!
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I use deck C in Traktor to do almost the same thing.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Looking forward for the new features. I think that if they will be strong enough they might be even make appearance to the controllers...

  5. #5
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ad357 View Post
    I use deck C in Traktor to do almost the same thing.
    Exactly, and if I really want to test a mix, C and D.
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  6. #6
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    actually cstoll from atomix shared his ideal for the functionality to jump forward in the track and set a loop, then you can just wait for the track to catch up... That sounds like a good use for it and something I would use in a live situation.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,414

    Default

    Quite sure I'll be buying VDJ8.

    This is a KILLER feature. I would use the HELL out of it!!!!

    VDJ needs to produce a proper, printed document, similar to the Traktor Bible. VDJ has some absolutely amazing features that people just don't know about (me included).

    VDJ is a PROPER DJ TOOL. It is NOT a TOY.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  8. #8
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    Everything is in the wiki, I think the reason there's no one document is that atomix don't really think of the user experience as well as Native or Serato and aren't really going for a young crown, what they do instead is give users a blank slate that allows you to modify pretty much everything about your interaction with it with a relatively easy api.

    Luckily they paired with adion who has the same ethos but did it to a greater extent and frankly made a better program, although dj decks is a little less friendly to people who don't know how to program. Hopefully they have the features and performance of djdecks with the accessibility of the VDJ Api.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  9. #9
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    sounds like too much going on. you might accidentally think you are in sandbox mode and start jogging through the track in your headphones, and your audience is like WTF. thats why i will never use layered controls, too much room for error. If i'm mixing 4 decks, then there's gonna be 4 decks in front of me!

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,414

    Default

    Luckily they paired with adion who has the same ethos but did it to a greater extent and frankly made a better program, although dj decks is a little less friendly to people who don't know how to program.
    Ha! Yeah - I had DJ Decks. I wrote my own script for my Dicers.

    Took a little learning, but once I got the syntax down, writing scripts was a breeze.

    I know Adion will bring a lot to the VDJ team.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •