Need a few tips for my gig.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need a few tips for my gig.

Hey fellas!

I'm Zeeshan,19, from India. I just joined this forum and I've a gig coming up in 3 days at a friend's house party. Before I go ahead, let me tell give you some information about me:

I started messing with Virtual DJ 4 years ago, that didn't quite benefit me but I started to get an idea about how it is supposed to work. Watched a lot of videos, about everything related to deejay'ing. Few months later, a friend of mine referred me to a corporate company who hosted their official parties every month and needed a DJ. I said yes and to this date I still curse myself for saying so. The setup was ready and everything was done. This was my first time at a gathering and I started playing trance/house/electro.

I'd never used a console before in my life. (PIONEER 2xCDJ400 & DJM600) I couldn't mix properly, no beatmatching, it was a tragedy!! Thanks to the sound system guy who helped me get it right. I was f#$kin freaking out, nervous as hell.. If not for him, I'd have passed out then n there itself.

Gradually, I started to get the hang of it. Practised each and every day but there was this problem of mine with beat-matching. Sometimes it would be perfect, and sometimes it just wouldn't work. This went on for a few months. Connecting a laptop and playing was being helpful to me, but I wanted to do it on the console where I could mix without any hassles or me worrying about the beat, not being in the rhythm.

I couldn't really purchase a console for myself, TBH it's out of my budget. I look after my college and home-rent so it's impossible. And to this date, I've this problem with getting the song beat-matched properly. As I said, its a 50-50 turnout whatsoever.