KRK Rockit 5/6 worthwhile upgrade from ms40's? Also what soundcard?
    Tech Wizard

Default KRK Rockit 5/6 worthwhile upgrade from ms40's? Also what soundcard?

so i am trying to decide if its going to be worth it upgrading to the krks... also what soundcard do most people use with them? I planned on buying an audio 6 or audio 10 for vinyl and do they have TRS output? sorry but im a little clueless about pro setups like this.

Tech Guru

Speakers should usually be connected to your mixer, not your sound card.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    Speakers should usually be connected to your mixer, not your sound card.
    i was thinking of that, as I have a DB2. but what if i just wanted to use a couple k2's? they only have RCA. also what about for audio production with maschine, iTunes, general use, etc. do i need two sets of speakers I kind wanted an all in one thing without have switch a ton of cables around? does this mean the mixer needs to be on 24/7?

Tech Guru

You can connect multiple devices to most monitors, so the mixer could go to the XLR speaker input and your computer/sound card could go to the RCA or TRS input.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8

Tech Wizard

I love my KRK 5s.

Hi frequencies are very crisp and it is very loud, I got 2 noise complaints for it and it was it even full volume.

Highly recommend it.

Also it doesn't matter which soundcard you use.

Quote Originally Posted by DJ Mob Cat View Post