S4 Crossfader...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor B.Hallowell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philly burbs
    Posts
    104

    Default S4 Crossfader...

    Ok. I'm going insane. I've searched everywhere for a fix however can't seem to find one.

    I started doing a mix yesterday and the internal crossfader in Traktor will jump to about 95% towards the left deck. I don't have the issue when the S4 is not plugged in so it's not the software. I hardly ever use the crossfader on the S4, always the volumes so it's not worn out, and hell I just got it in May. When jamming out and doing a mix it's really annoying when it jumps full left. I have to take the crossfader on the S4 and go full left then full right and it'll reset to where ever I leave it with the S4 like it should. I've reset the S4 in the settings and calibrated the crossfader approximately 291428067958 times. Ive found some similar issues on NI's forum about this with the volume faders but none about the crossfader and NI had all those threads locked. I have heard horror stories about NI customer service and figured I'd try here. Anyone have any info?
    Traktor Pro 2, Kontrol S4, Midi Fighter (#100 by Ean himself!), blah blah blah

    Soundcloud || Facebook


  2. #2
    Tech Guru Quenepas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Not adding in a direct way but I wish I could replace the crossfader on the S4. I'll keep this post on watch.
    Erase. Stop. Start.

  3. #3

    Default

    ... all i can say is check the controller options. maybe its not the controller itself but the software.
    "Be RANDOM to get NOTICED" -ellaskins

  4. #4
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Log a ticket with NI and they will talk you through what the issue may be. If they feel it may be a hardware issue they will ask you to send your s4 through the post to them and test it. If it turns out to be a faulty S4 they will send you a new one.

    Ive had this recently with the right tempo fader. Their customer service has been EXCELLENT!
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Contact NI like Kooper says.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Launch the Traktor options screen and click on Traktor S4 -> Recalibrate crossfader

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quenepas View Post
    Not adding in a direct way but I wish I could replace the crossfader on the S4. I'll keep this post on watch.
    http://www.djforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=285743

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Will M.D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    117
    Macbook Pro 2011, Pioneer DJM 750mk2, 2xTechnics SL-1200mk2, Dicers, Ortofon Concorde Scratch,
    Yamaha HS50M & HS10W, Sennheiser Amperior w/Custom Cans wrapped cable.
    Torq 2.0.3, Traktor 2.81 Rekordbox 5.2
    http://www.thankphat.com

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Quenepas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Will_D View Post
    :eek: Wow! Awesome!! I remember reading that changing the crossfader on the S4 couldnt be done due to space issues but this solves the issue in a simple manner. Also it is $160 including the S4 kit so is not that bad...

    Looks like I'll finally be able to start to practice scratch without that thought of breaking the xfader.

    Anyone here already made the mod?
    Erase. Stop. Start.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    That looks promising but not sure I have the gonads to tear apart my S4!!

    A howto video would be awesome to have.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •