Modular setup soundcard queries!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    18

    Default Modular setup soundcard queries!

    Hey guys,
    I'm planning to buy a mixer, F1 and XI to replace my S2. I realize i need a soundcard to connect the mixer to my computer. The question is, if i'm using 2 main decks and the remix deck thru the F1, do i need anything more than an Audio 2? Also, would it be possible to connect the mixer to my computer using my studio card, which is a Focusrite 2i2?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    maybe, you will only be sending out two stereo pairs with an audio 2 or audio 4 for that matter. If you want to send out each deck and remix deck to their own channel on the mixer you would need 3 stereo pairs or an Audio 6/8/10 in native's soundcards.

    Just saw the end of your post, As long as they are both ASIO "which they are" you can sync the audio clocks together to use in tandem, But I'm not sure whether traktor allows you to use multiple soundcards. Hopefully someone else who knows can chime in.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thanks for the reply - i'm confused as to the difference between sending out two stereo pairs versus sending out a stereo pair for each channel. I was told running an audio 2 would be sufficient for 2 deck use? Or am i mistaken?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    for two decks you can do that no worries, it's just if you want to run the remix deck to it's own channel on the mixer. And your question doesn't really make any sense. the Audio 2/4 has 4 mono outputs, that's 2 stereo pairs, sufficient for running 2 decks into a mixer.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  5. #5

    Default

    Sounds like you need an Audio 8/10 or an ESI Gigaport, as you're going to need 3 stereo pairs (6 channels), which rules the Audio 2 out.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    The Traktor Audio 6 has 3 stereo outputs, hence the name.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Mentor arsman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    289

    Default

    I am basing this answer through the NI's website and if you look on set up examples on the f1/x1 page, you will see that they use an audio 2 if you will not use a mixer. if there is a mixer involved, they used an audio 6/10.

    Will also be my setup as I will be looking to buy an x1 and a mixer. already have an a6 and f1 at hand.
    Pizza | Coke | Burger | Fries | Milkshake
    my RGAS story

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You can use the Audio 2 with an external mixer in the same way, but you'll only have 2 decks in External mode and you won't be able to record.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thanks a bunch guys, seems like i'll have to be getting an Audio 6 or equivalent. On this, are the NI cards best for this purpose, in terms of cost/quality or are there other cards i should consider?

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard Subbes's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    52

    Default

    You can also get a Traktor Certified Mixer like the DJM 850/900 or Denon Dn-X 1600/1700 with integrated 4 Channel Soundcard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •