PC RAM upgrade
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: PC RAM upgrade

  1. #1
    Tech Mentor DeanOakley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    371

    Question PC RAM upgrade

    Hello.

    I recently upgrade to Windows 8 getting along with it okay, just wondering if a RAM upgrade is needed?

    Current specs are as follows: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core2 CPU 4300 @ 1.80GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT.

    Using Ableton and haven't experienced any problems as yet but I'm not using any VSTs or anything yet.

    If I was to upgrade, it would be to this: http://www.ebuyer.com/190905-crucial...kit25664aa1067

    Thanks.
    Equipment: 2x CDJ 2000s // Kontrol Z2 // 2x KRK Rokit 5s // Maschine MkII // Scarlett 2i2

    Soundcloud Twitter Facebook

  2. #2
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,672

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeanOakley View Post

    I recently upgrade to Windows 8 getting along with it okay, just wondering if a RAM upgrade is needed?

    Thanks.
    Yes

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Daily Crisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    380

    Default

    4GB RAM is absolutely essential for any type of system in my opinion. I take it you know what you're doing if you're to see if your motherboard can take this RAM and also to install it, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have a large glass of water and a wank. Problem solved.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Also, 1.8GHz is not enough for dual core in MY opinion.
    Childhood is short. Immaturity is forever.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Daily Crisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iqdodge View Post
    Also, 1.8GHz is not enough for dual core in MY opinion.
    Most definitely. 4 year old laptops won't even have that any more.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have a large glass of water and a wank. Problem solved.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Daily Crisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    380

    Default

    If anything you'll need to upgrade your entire computer.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have a large glass of water and a wank. Problem solved.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor DeanOakley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Yeah, I know enough to get by. I actually put this PC together myself so upgrading isn't too much hassle.

    What CPU would you recommend?
    Equipment: 2x CDJ 2000s // Kontrol Z2 // 2x KRK Rokit 5s // Maschine MkII // Scarlett 2i2

    Soundcloud Twitter Facebook

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Daily Crisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Intel i3, i5, i7 if you've got a strict budget then go for AMD Athlon, FX Series etc. Also you need to change the motherboard I can
    recommend some if you like; which also may lead changing your RAM.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have a large glass of water and a wank. Problem solved.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor DeanOakley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    371

    Default

    The i3 is looking like it could certainly fit my budget, this one in particular: http://www.ebuyer.com/447252-core-i3...-bx80637i33210

    If you could recommend a mobo that would be good, I'm okay putting the things together physically but actually matching them so they're compatible is another thing.
    Equipment: 2x CDJ 2000s // Kontrol Z2 // 2x KRK Rokit 5s // Maschine MkII // Scarlett 2i2

    Soundcloud Twitter Facebook

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Daily Crisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    380

    Default

    Yep looks good mate, cheap on Ebuyer too. Might as well get this a whole .10GHz more and for some reason cheaper http://www.ebuyer.com/393554-intel-c...FVIPtAod1HoAYQ. Not sure what budget you are on the mobo but I'll just throw some out there.. Also is your case ATX or mATX?

    http://www.ebuyer.com/351598-gigabyt...FVMQtAodxU8A7w

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have a large glass of water and a wank. Problem solved.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •