First Gig this Week: What do I Need for Load In/Soundcheck?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default First Gig this Week: What do I Need for Load In/Soundcheck?

    Hi DJTT Forum,

    I have my first gig this week, and the event organizer has just asked me what I need from the venue in terms of load in and sound check. I have no clue what I need. Could anyone help me out? I use a MacBook Pro with Traktor Pro 2, a Traktor Kontrol S4 and F1, and a Novation Launchpad. I would also like the ability to plug my iPhone into the venue's mixer in case of an equipment failure. I have a simple 3.5mm to RCA cable that would probably do the trick for that.

    Any advice/help is much appreciated. Thanks so much!

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,333

    Default

    spare everything
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    spare everything
    What do you mean?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Kwal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    spare everything
    Pretty much

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kwal View Post
    Pretty much
    What does "spare everything" mean?

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,333

    Default

    u should basically have an extra set of RCA's, USB Cables, Power Strip etc.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    u should basically have an extra set of RCA's, USB Cables, Power Strip etc.
    So the venue will provide extras of those?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    you just need an in-house mixer that connects to the amps/booth etc,

    plug your s4 output into the RCA of the mixer, channel fader up and off you go.
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bohdi View Post
    So the venue will provide extras of those?
    No.
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    217

    Default

    He could always ask
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Olsgaard/
    House/Techno Dj from Denmark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •