4-Deck DJ Controllers - advantages?

Default 4-Deck DJ Controllers - advantages?

I am very new to DJing, so please bear with my simple question:

Why might a DJ want a 4-deck controller (as opposed to 2-deck), and in what ways would I be limited if I only have 2 decks available?

if you want to use more than 2 tracks at once, get a 4 deck controller.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

2 decks for 2 deck controller. 3 or 4 for 4 deck controller
    Pizza | Coke | Burger | Fries | Milkshake
    my RGAS story

Tech Guru

2 deck controllers mimic any other common "2 input" system...in terms of gross workflow...be it 2 CDs or 2 turntables. If your DJ style can be accommodated with 2 input devices, then a 2 deck controller is likely a good place to start. 2 deck controllers tend to be smaller, more portable, and less expensive than their larger cousins. The trade off is that with less space, there tend to be fewer dedicated controls (things like filter knobs, etc).

4 deck controllers allow semi-direct access and control of 4 decks. None (that I have seen) have 4 jog wheels. But they do allow access to 4 line channel faders, and more dedicated controls. These controllers tend to be larger, and more expensive than their smaller cousins.