Question about DJM 900 headphone volume
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default Question about DJM 900 headphone volume

    Ive noticed that while mixing with the DJM 900 with headphones on, the master channel always sound significantly louder than the channel Im attempting to mix in despite adjusting the headphone volume. Actually noticed it on all the 900s Ive mixed on. Is there a setting Im missing or is this something I need to get used to?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru johney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    706

    Default

    master volume is probably turned up.

    use master/cue knob, that should solve your problem

  3. #3
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default

    Thanks johney. I'll give it a go when I get home.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Make sure your Master Output and Channel VU meters are level. Otherwise they won't sound balanced.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    pretty much what they said above...
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  6. #6
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default

    After messing with the headphone volume last night, it seemed like I had everything set properly and both channels were equal in volume. But one thing I wasn’t able to do was lower the master channel in the headphones so that I could hear the channel being cued well enough to beatmatch. Coming from a DJM 350, I was able to adjust the master channel in the headphones without altering the gain/highs/mids/lows.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru johney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    706

    Default

    you can do that by using the cue/master knob, that sets the ratio at which the cued channels and master cue are mixed in the headphones

    it's right above the volume knob

  8. #8
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johney View Post
    you can do that by using the cue/master knob, that sets the ratio at which the cued channels and master cue are mixed in the headphones

    it's right above the volume knob
    Tried that, but didn't hear any difference which way I turned it.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    There should be an obvious change in Cue/Master mix when you turn the dial. Make sure you only have one channel's Cue activated, as well as the Master Cue.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  10. #10
    Tech Guru MaxOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,918

    Default

    I know it's obvs... But do you have only the buttons pressed for the master and the deck you want to cue ? You dont have both tracks and the master cued?
    CLUB OF JACKS - RELEASES >>TRAXSOURCE
    Club of Jacks are a London based House & Garage production / DJ duo with releases on a number of underground labels including Plastik People Recordings, Blockhead Recordings, Hi Energy!, Pocket Jacks Trax, Soul Revolution Records and their own Club of Jacks imprint.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •