Flattered and irked at the same time
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Flattered and irked at the same time

I would like to start this off by saying my ego isn't a huge as it's about to sound.

Flattering part
    So a lot of my friends like my music, and I have a pretty decent following of kids around where I live who'll call asking for my newest mixes and stuff. It's great. I'm genuinely flattered. Some kid who goes to the high school I went to has been into what I've done.

Anyway, this kid like 4 years younger than me starts using VDJ a week ago, and pumped out two mixes and threw them up on Soundcloud. Now, given the fact that I was in that position at one point (tho I held off on putting these mixes on Soundcloud for a while) I understand that he's excited. I'm still a beginner myself. He doesn't have any kind of controller or DJ interface, so you can imagine (especially without cueing ability) the quality of the transitions in these mixes.

Irritating Part
    However, this kid is going around telling people that not only does he know me (which is cool, whatever) but also that I think he's some great dj and that I've been doing these mixes with him. Neither of those things are true. At all. Especially the part that I somehow have something to do with what he's doing.

To make matters worse, he's ripping off my sets... I mean using almost the exact same songs I did and in the same order, trying to transition at the same parts, and he's doing it out of time and off-beat because he can't really cue it effectively.

Time to relax
    I've been giving him advice and suggestions on where he needs improvement. I love to talk music and djing with people. But how do I tell him that I'm not somehow endorsing what he's doing and to stop just trying to copy what I'm doing?

I understand he's ambitious, and that's great. My intentions are not to say something like "hey your mix is trash, your trash, stop talking to me." You know? I don't want to hurt the kid's feelings.