First DJ Gig Observations

Default First DJ Gig Observations

Did my first, I guess, "Pro" DJ gig, and I thought I would share some thoughts. I was a lurker in this forum for a couple months, and it was immensely helpful, so just paying back my dues.

First a little background: I've been a long time bedroom DJ (over 10 years), have done a couple of house parties for friends, and even did a couple sets in bars/club places (all of them just subbing in for friends). So I'm not a complete newbie. The goal is to get people to dance and playing to the crowd. Nothing feels better than having a whole room full of people dancing to music that you're playing.

So for my first Pro gig, I was booked to DJ for a Boat party carrying 500+ people (DJing for 2 floors). I had recently bought decent gear and speakers and rocked a friend's house party, and one of the guests there reached out to me to for this gig. My first thought was: I'm going to need better speakers. Factoring in the cost of renting speakers and a sub for the night, I nervously gave her a price that would still give me an okay profit, and was shocked when she quickly came back and said yes. Looking back, I probably should have asked for more, but this was the first time I ever had to do the whole negotiating a price thing.

After I got signed and booked, the amount of nervous energy I had built up was crazy. Used these boards and other places for general advice. Overall conclusion was just do what I usually do, since it must've been right. Play to the crowd, and save the bangers for later.

Just some observations: