CDJ 800's: Still Worth A Buy?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default CDJ 800's: Still Worth A Buy?

In the next year im hoping to upgrade my current CD players. (I dont use actual CD's, serato user here)
    I currently Use Numark Axis 9, and considering they were never "top of the line", and ive been using them for well over 7 years, i guess you can say theyve been worth it.

Anyways, Like i said i want to upgrade, i absolutely love the feel of vinyl, and the large platter, but i am young, and although I dont doubt that technics would hold up for years, but i would feel a little bit nervous using them as a mobile DJ. Therefor as the prequel to my thread asking which CD decks i may want to get, (see alot of those already though), i was wondering if CDJ 800's are still worth the buy.

Personally i like them because i currently dont use serato in absolute mode, meaning most of the looping and cueing i do with the keyboard or a controller, and they dont have too many buttons on them so i wouldnt be paying for extra features i dont use.

I imagine the build quality on them is excellent, but can they take a beating? Will buying a pair used make me upset?

And how is the platter feel/sctracthing? The numarks honestly have awesome scratching on them, i wouldnt want to downgrade
    Simplicity is Beautiful

Unless you get them VERY cheap, buying a cdj JUST to use them with timecode is like going to a hooker for a hug.
    I would look for secondhand CDJ850, that way you at least get HID with SSL (and can get rid of using keyboard), USB and mp3 support
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

Tech Guru

They are only worth it if you play music through CDs. Buying CD players for timecode is a waste.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB

So if buying CD players for timecodes is a waste what would u suggest?
    Im a little lost as to why its a waste