Trying to get my first setup ever, any recommendations?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trying to get my first setup ever, any recommendations?

So im soon to be a new dj and later a producer.... but im just getting started. Im learning stuff about hardware and software everyday. I know almost nothing about music, except for i love it more than every person i know (like i love it a ridiculous amount; an absolute overkill). So to my point I was seeing if the following items would be great for my first setup, or what would be better....

New MacBook Pro
    Tracktor Pro 2
    Tracktor Kontrol Z1 and X1
    Midi Fighter Twister (when it becomes available)
    Beatbox Portable (just for when im alone learning to mix inside my bedroom, and also finding actual starting speakers is kinda of a dead end street for me; help)
    Beats Pro

For production...... I think i might go with

Ableton Live 9 Suite
    Ableton Push
    Komplete 9
    Akai MPK25

I also need to come up with a good producer alias. Im soon to be going to Dubspot online and I cant wait.

-see yall on the other side :-)

Stay away from the beats... Unless you are buying for the brand. If you're looking for quality and value, there are much better options. I have beats studios and frankly love them, but there are better options. If you're not looking at using turntables, I would at least look at the S2/S4, because as far as I know, the Z2 was intended for Traktor Scratch. Best of luck!

Tech Wizard

First off, Hi there.

Right, I should probably state a few things you should know before you start DJ'ing. It's easy to get into, hard to get anywhere with. Anyway, it depends if you want to DJ for fun or as a job or both. If it's just for fun get something cheap and simple so you can get the hang of basic mixing technique (Phrasing, EQ'ing right, working out what sounds nice with what). But I'm assuming you're not going to peruse DJ'ing as less of a job more of a Hobby.