Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Haarlem, Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    Default APC 40 knob/rotary as s4 rotary search trough track

    I'm currently trying to map my APC 40 as my Traktor controller. I used to have a S4 controller with the loop rotary right and the search/seek trough track rotary based on the loop size. But I can't find the right way to map the search/seek rotary to one on my APC. I've searched on internet and found some possibilities on this forum but I couldn't get it to work. Can someone please help me?
    DJ-Setup: MacBook Pro Retina | NI Traktor Pro 2 | Akai APC 40 | NI Audio8 | A&H Xone XD-53
    Producing Setup: MacBook Pro Retina or old W7 PC | Ableton Suite 8 | NI Audio 8DJ | Akai APC-40 | Korg nanoSERIES

  2. #2
    Tech Guru VanGogo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    L.A. (lower Alabama)
    Posts
    1,825

    Default

    Map beatjump to your encoder.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Haarlem, Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    Default

    That's what I thought but when I set add in Beatjump to encoder and I turn the encoder it doesn't change the marker in traktor
    DJ-Setup: MacBook Pro Retina | NI Traktor Pro 2 | Akai APC 40 | NI Audio8 | A&H Xone XD-53
    Producing Setup: MacBook Pro Retina or old W7 PC | Ableton Suite 8 | NI Audio 8DJ | Akai APC-40 | Korg nanoSERIES

  4. #4
    Tech Guru VanGogo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    L.A. (lower Alabama)
    Posts
    1,825

    Default

    Ok, I had a chance to check it out.
    Map both commands to your Encoder
    Add in > Deck Common > Move > Mode Selector--Button Direct = Beat Jump
    Add in > Deck Common > Move > Move--Fader/Knob Relative (leave sensitivity settings alone)

  5. #5
    Mapping Ninja Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    4,613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VanGogo View Post
    Ok, I had a chance to check it out.
    Map both commands to your Encoder
    Add in > Deck Common > Move > Mode Selector--Button Direct = Beat Jump
    Add in > Deck Common > Move > Move--Fader/Knob Relative (leave sensitivity settings alone)
    OP want beatjumps based on the loop size. You need one modifier in there far as I can figure (need to test this first tbh).

  6. #6
    Tech Guru VanGogo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    L.A. (lower Alabama)
    Posts
    1,825

    Default

    Using the above mapping worked just like the s4 for me. I used the s4 in midi mode as it has the only encoders in my set up. (Not like I got to beta a Twister )I tried various commands and settings, and the above commands are the only way it worked like the s4.

  7. #7
    Mapping Ninja Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    4,613

    Default

    This worked with a jog wheel encoder.

    Beatjump / M1=0 / -loop
    Beatjump / M1=7 / +loop
    Modifier 1 / encoder-relative / 7fh - 300%
    Move

    If an APC has an option to disable LED ring and set action mode to endless than this will do as well.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Haarlem, Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    Default

    I will test the options given tomorrow, let you guys know what worked for me thanks
    DJ-Setup: MacBook Pro Retina | NI Traktor Pro 2 | Akai APC 40 | NI Audio8 | A&H Xone XD-53
    Producing Setup: MacBook Pro Retina or old W7 PC | Ableton Suite 8 | NI Audio 8DJ | Akai APC-40 | Korg nanoSERIES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •