Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor ConnectControl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    127

    Default Possible stupid question... couldn't find anything googling it though

    Alright so I have a pair of rokit 8's and so does my buddy. If we were to say have a small gathering and bring them together, could they all be hooked up to the same S4 to have twice the volume spread out around the area? or is two the max?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,598

    Default

    you can't daisy chain them together, but you could always get a couple of rca y-adapters to split the signal from the S4 if your doing it on the cheap, or buy a cheap mixer that has four outputs or master/booth.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Do you have an S4 mk1 or mk2? Either way you can connect to both the TRS and RCA outputs at the same time. The benefit of the mk2 is that you can have independent volume control of each set (flick to booth).

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Yeah, mixers/controllers with booth-out or even record-out should do the trick.
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | A&H Xone XD22 headphones
    talk: http://www.twitter.com/djs_life
    read: http://www.djworx.com
    listen: http://www.mixcloud.com/happydan

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor ConnectControl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    127

    Default

    I have the mk2. My pair is hooked up via XLR or TRS or whatever, so I could effectively hook his up with RCA cables if I switch the mode to booth on the back?

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Yes, hook the second set to the RCA outs and switch to booth setting, this will give you independent volume control of both sets of speakers.

    Please note that when you move the switch to booth, the Volume control on the top of the S4mk2 will control the volume of the booth RCA outputs, and the small volume control on the back will control the TRS outputs.

    The reason you will want independent control is because there may be volume differences when using the unbalanced RCA vs balanced TRS outputs, so this will allow you to get the volume from each speaker set the same.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,424

    Default

    It might be easier if you don't set it to Booth, and balance the gains using the dial on the back of the Rokits.

    That way you can easily adjust the Master volume across all 4 speakers simultaneously.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •