Performing live with Ableton?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Question Performing live with Ableton?

Hey guys, I've been using Ableton for a little while, and separately using Traktor to DJ, but I paid a lot of money for the powerful Ableton, I now want to use it to perform live.

This is where I need help

My aim would be to play tracks that I've purchased through Ableton and be able to make use of the great send and return effects and other feature of Live. However, I can't decide on the best way to go about this..

My initial thoughts would be to spend a few hundered hours in the studio cutting up my tracks into sections so that I could play different sections of different songs through clip launching, then possibly also use EQing?

I would sell my Traktor S4 to buy an APC40 or something similar if I chose to go through with this method.

As I'm new to this, can you suggest any methods close to mine, or different ways that I hadn't thought of?

my main wish is really to be able to use Ableton to effectively DJ but have more control, and still be able to play other producers tracks from my library.
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

Selling the S4 for an APC40 is the best way to go - then you'll need to get hold of soe KILLER Live Templates...

Check out iLL Gates website. He can sove your problem in a heartbeat.

The man is an Ableton GENIUS.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Selling the S4 for an APC40 is the best way to go - then you'll need to get hold of soe KILLER Live Templates...

Check out iLL Gates website. He can sove your problem in a heartbeat.

The man is an Ableton GENIUS.