Serato Sync
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Serato Sync

  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default Serato Sync

    Hey techtoolers.

    I've been dj'ing with Ableton for 5 years now, but recently started playing out with vinyl to a higher and higher degree. I've been looking into buying a DVS, but I'm still unsure if I should go for Serato or Traktor, which leads me to a quick question regarding Serato.

    Is it possible, in serato, to use Sync for a song with a drifting tempo? I'd love this feature in Ableton, but it really kills the groove to make an 80's disco track a slave to the master clock. Is it possible in Serato to beatgrid songs and then let them be the master sync? I hope this makes sense to you all.

    Best regards.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    If you're looking into using DVS, why do you still need Sync?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    183

    Default

    You mean like a song raising consistently from 80BPM at 0:00 to 120BPM at 2:30? Well theoretically it is possible by setting a beat warp marker at every single bar. But there are two problems: The tempo won't increase consitently, but in steps (even though quite small ones) and doing this for a whole song or even a bunch of songs is a lot of work.
    Last edited by tilldrop; 02-11-2014 at 05:57 PM.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,368

    Default

    The tempo won't increase AT ALL if you warp it. Once you've warped a track, it's tempo is locked, and follows Abletons Master tempo.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    183

    Default

    Sorry I meant to say (beat) warp marker. ;-) So its done only in Serato - without Ableton.

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback, I'll try and put my question more simple. I'm quite familiar with how ableton warp works. What I'm trying to ask is, if Serato warps in the same way or if the beatgrid is flexible?

    My reason for wanting to use DVS and sometimes sync, is so I'd be able to use spin vinyls (and use those as my "controller"), while still maintaining the flexibility when it comes to mashing up tracks with sync.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    183

    Default

    I just dont know how to explain it better... You can set markers for changing BPM in Serato. The calculated BPM between two markers will always be the same. So since you can set unlimited of such markers the only way (I know) is to set a new marker at every beat. That way you still have steps in the BPM, but very small once. I'm not sure though if it sounds that good when synced to another track. Also it is a ton of work and you have to be precise as hell when marking.

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Now I get it, thanks.. That seems like to much work for what might be unusable. I think I'll just stick to ableton and vinyls for now. Thanks for all the feedback.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru johney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    706

    Default

    can you not warp the track in ableton and then just play it through serato?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •