Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    10

    Default Laptop for production and djing

    I'm thinking of buying a new laptop but I'm torn between a mac book pro and a mac book air, I'm looking at the 13" in both but just can't decide, both models have 4Gb of ram and both are i5. the only thing putting me off the air is the 1.4Ghz processor, I was wondering if anyone has a air and uses it to run machine and logic, and traktor with out any problems

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,424

    Default

    There's nothing wrong with the Air's CPU. It will easily handle Traktor, Maschine, and Logic.

    You should probably upgrade to 8GB of RAM though.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Wizard dj_adm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto/Kingston/Hamilton Ontario
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I'd not get the air.

    Personally, I did this mod to my Macbook pro and put the RAM up to 8GB myself.


    More space, better performance.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,424

    Default

    More space, sure. But not more performance.

    The outdated 2012 MBP's CPU only has a negligible lead over the refreshed Haswell CPU in the Air (yes, that 1.4GHz one), and the Air's SSDs are around twice as fast as any SSD you could 'mod' into the old Pro.

    (edit: the Air also has a much better GPU with the Intel 5000 vs the 4000 in the Pro)
    Last edited by makar1; 05-21-2014 at 11:29 AM.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    71

    Default

    I would like to point out that trying to produce on a 13" screen sucks. I finally updated my mid-2010 Macbook Pro and am going with a 15" screen this time.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,424

    Default

    Producing on a laptop in general sucks. I split screen the DAW across my 27" and 24" screens.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    546

    Default

    I use a dual monitor setup for EVERYTHING...including everything I do with music. The additional screen real estate is REALLY handy for everything. I also use an external keyboard and external trackball mouse. Having one monitor vertical, and one horizontal can be handy for some tasks...I have that for the "day job" but not the "home setup."

    +1 on the upgrade of the RAM.
    Traktor Pro 2 & Kontrol S2 & Maschine Mk1 (retired VCI-100 Arcade (Signed #198/300))
    BFM 10x DR200 & 10x Titan 39

  8. #8
    Tech Guru antifmradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NJ NYC
    Posts
    1,143

    Default

    doing any lengthy use on a 13" screen would suck. You really shouldnt be trying to do too much detailed work on a monitor that small
    Youll find yourself hunching towards it for hours at a time and with that small or a monitor, the keys would also be closer together.
    Get a ruler and put your hands inside the ends and try sitting there while sitting BACK from your monitor.
    Notice your wrists need to turn WAY in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •