Beatgrid Drifting Track
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    23

    Default Beatgrid Drifting Track

    Hey everyone!

    Running into a problem with a track that I bought from Beatport. I mix with Traktor and the track drifts on and off from the grid. I tried fixing the track in Ableton but just have a few questions:

    Should I warp the track in "Beats"? (it's a standard 4/4 track)
    and
    Would setting warp markers be the best way to fix it??

    Thanks for advanced

    -A

  2. #2

    Default

    ........
    Last edited by feedbackl00p; 07-29-2014 at 10:29 PM.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,420

    Default

    Warp it in Live. Keep it at the original tempo, and use Complex or Complex Pro warp mode.

    Render to disc, them beatgrid in Traktor. That should be easy seeing as you've already fixed the tempo in Live.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    just drop another grid marker further on in the track. IMO if you are going to the trouble of warping your tunes, you may as well use ableton for dj'ing as well
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Agreed. Either that, or just brush up on good old fashioned manual beat matching .
    I have a few of these in my set... It keeps me paying attention

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    You can very often find a part of the intro that grids perfectly. Place a grid and a loop on that part.
    Then drop a second grid on the outro of the track where the grid lines up perfectly, remember you cannot adjust the grid as you will undo the first. Then drop a loop on where that grid marker is.

    There you have a sync-able intro and outro on a track with a fluctuating BPM. A good example of this is MJ's - Billie Jean, its drifts but theres a sweet spot at the start where a 4 beat loop works perfectly and again at the end.

    Very old trick.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,420

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KS
    A good example of EVERYTHING GREAT IN MUSIC is MJ's - Billie Jean
    Fixed that for ya, homie!
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    778

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Warp it in Live. Keep it at the original tempo, and use Complex or Complex Pro warp mode.

    Render to disc, them beatgrid in Traktor. That should be easy seeing as you've already fixed the tempo in Live.
    Exacly, I do it everytime I find a non-constant BPM track, when you get used to it it won't take more than 2 minutes.
    13" Macbook Air i7, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD | Traktor 2.7.1 | Ableton Live 9 | DJM-900 Nexus | NI Audio 10 | A&H Xone:K2 | Oyaide USB & RCA | HDJ-2000 | Odyssey BRLDIGITAL Bag

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Fixed that for ya, homie!
    We need 'Like's under posts on this forum.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,420

    Default

    Agree.

    I mean "like".

    I mean "up rep"....
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •