cdj or digital
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: cdj or digital

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    25

    Default cdj or digital

    What do you guys use cdj's or digital....is there a benefit to using cdj's over digital like traktor?

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Just gonna throw this out there... CDJs are digital

    I think we have a small group who still spin on CDs... I do in case of emergencies or when I'm doing a short set and don't feel like bringing the gear with me.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor alien2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    415

    Default

    The only advantage from Cdjs that inmediatly comes to my head is that Cdjs are kind of club standard, so if you are a Cd dj compared to a digital Dj the setup in a club is easier and faster, also they are kind of fail proof when playing live (still your cd may skip or something worst), anyways I trust in Traktor the same as I trust a cd deck. Besides that there is not really one thing that a cdj can do that is not possible in Traktor.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor BANGERS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147

    Default

    I use CDJ's with ssl. Use both analog & midi, it expands all the options!

  5. #5
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alien2k View Post
    Besides that there is not really one thing that a cdj can do that is not possible in Traktor.
    And i can think of lots of things you can do in Traktor that you cant do on a CDJ - even the new CDJ-2000's which basically just stole a heap of Traktors functions then CDJerized them.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor BANGERS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    147

    Default

    traktor can record, can cdjs?

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    43

    Default

    used cdjs for years, then used them with serato, then traktor and now don't bother with them at all, i play out 5 times a week and use a vci100se, bring a handful of cds for backup. I used CDs all night this Saturday and it felt really uncomfortable & BORING, really missed hot cues, loop functions and fx within Traktor!

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor chex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pensacola @ NATTC
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BentoSan View Post
    And i can think of lots of things you can do in Traktor that you cant do on a CDJ - even the new CDJ-2000's which basically just stole a heap of Traktors functions then CDJerized them.
    +1
    Good reason why i sold my CDJs many years ago.
    3x sl-1200s, Rane Empath, KP3, Ineko, Serato SL1, TS-Pro, RP10s sub, Event TR8 monitors, Xiosynth, Nano Pad & Kontrol, VCI-100 1.3 djtt, 3x M44g, DT-770, Rp-DJ1200, 13" MBP 4GB 2.26 128GB Corsair P128 Solid State Drive.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Evissa Town, Ibiza
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alien2k View Post
    Besides that there is not really one thing that a cdj can do that is not possible in Traktor.!
    Instant deck reverse? I'm still waiting on that one.

    Fus

  10. #10
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    I prefer using my digital rig, but....
    i use cdjs as a back up if the club doesn't have room for my rig setup.
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •