Live instrument into mixer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    queens, ny
    Posts
    32

    Default Live instrument into mixer

    Ok- I'm sure it will work but I'm OCD and need to know 100%-----
    Can I run a live instrument (violin, guitar) into my Z2 mixer?? Violin 1/4"-- into RCA adapter--- into back of mixer. Switch to "LINE" ang I'm good, right?? THANKS

  2. #2
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    The short answer is "maybe" You might need a DI box to get it to line level. Is it some sort of electric pickup on the violin?
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    queens, ny
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I believe she is using a DI box. I've never had to set up live instruments before so I've been doing a little research. Using a dj mixer (with built-in sound card) or controller would be similar to a mixing board- correct?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    Yes, except DJ mixers generally don't take balanced inputs so you need a Match box or DI to get the signal to line level. Most DI boxes have 1/4 inch out so you'll need a 1/4 inch to rca cable. Also the DI will be mono so you either have to split the signal and run it to both the left and right of your DJ mixer or go mono all the way through the chain.
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  5. #5
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    Does the place you're playing have a regular non DJ mixer for the house/main sound? If so, it might be better to use that for the violin.
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    queens, ny
    Posts
    32

    Default

    It's complicated. I'm doing a wedding and violinist will be doing cocktail hour and then ceremony. There will be a mixing board for one location but not the other. I was told she is going 1/4" out. I'm assuming she is using DI box. Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    You should ask her if she is using a DI. It could just be an out straight from her pickup and unless it's battery powered, you'll need something to get it to line level.
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Not sure about your setup... But some powered PA speakers have extra inputs. I have a set of JBL that take up to 3 inputs each and have a mixer built in. Haven't tried it with live instruments, but would think you can plug in there if she has a DI box as mentioned.

    But agree... For the future, it may be beneficial to have a small mixer handy like a Mackie or some sort. Will give you the extra balanced inputs and Mic pres if ever needed.

    Good luck.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    If the instrument has a pickup you can run directly into the 1/4' Microphone input on a DJ mixer.

    I used to do it with a Live Guitarist and it worked a treat

  10. #10
    Tech Guru diezdiazgiant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    805

    Default

    I would just go pick a cheap compact mixer with instrument input and just plug output of compact mixer into your dj mixer. Cheap and you never know when one would come in handy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •