Soundcard advice for Behringer CMD MM-1
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Convert andyhl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Burgess Hill, UK
    Posts
    8

    Default Soundcard advice for Behringer CMD MM-1

    Hi,

    I started DJing way back with a pair of technics and a simple 2 channel mixer, and have recently got back into it digitally, and I currently have a basic Traktor Pro 2 deck set-up:

    Z1 Mixer
    X1 Mk2 Controller

    I'd like to move to 4 decks, and I'm looking at a second X1 Mk2 as a controller.

    For the 4 channel mixer, I'm thinking of a CMD MM1, but I'll need a sound card for it, and I'm completely confused about which one I should get.

    I'm planning on doing everything through Traktor's Internal mixer. Would I need a 4 channel soundcard, or more? Everything I've read about, say, Audio 6 or 10 cards, they seem to be geared towards phono inputs for DVS, so I'm not sure if these are overkill for 2 X1 Mk2s.

    Similarly, I'm assuming that a Traktor Audio 2 won't be enough for 4 decks, even thorugh the internal mixer. Or am I completely wrong?

    Been searching the forums here, but have ended up getting more confused, so figured I'd ask here specific to my requirements. Any advice welcomed, thanks

    AndyHL

  2. #2
    Tech Guru zimfella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brighton ,UK.
    Posts
    1,060

    Default

    Audio 2 will be perfect for your needs. 1 channel for your headphones and then route all other channels through the 2nd output. When setting up, use the setup wizard. After choosing the right options, it should do it automatically.
    It's not the gear. It's how you use it.
    limitations are the source of creativity.
    If you don't practice you don't want it.

    http://soundcloud.com/zimfella

  3. #3
    Tech Convert andyhl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Burgess Hill, UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zimfella View Post
    Audio 2 will be perfect for your needs. 1 channel for your headphones and then route all other channels through the 2nd output. When setting up, use the setup wizard. After choosing the right options, it should do it automatically.
    Ah, thank you. Presumably (now I think about it more!) I'd only need a more advanced soundcard if I was mixing externally, as the internal mixer will handle the individual deck routings and suchlike.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,412

    Default

    Stick with the Z1/X1 combo, and maybe add an F1 for controlling decks C&D.

    Wait - are you using decks with your Z1?
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Convert andyhl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Burgess Hill, UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Stick with the Z1/X1 combo, and maybe add an F1 for controlling decks C&D.

    Wait - are you using decks with your Z1?
    No, I used to own 1210s way back in the day, but I took an extended break from DJing, sold my hardware, and in the last year or so got the bug again and am purely digital now. I have limited space, so just want a small fun set-up for home, for radio shows, making mixtapes and the like.

    Thought about the F1, but not really sure I'd be using it for the full remix decks capabilities, hence thinking another X1 would open up more creative possibilities.

    If I was to get an F1, how would decks C & D work with the Z1's 2 channels - would I simply route them through A & B, and control the volume via the F1 faders?

  6. #6
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zimfella View Post
    Audio 2 will be perfect for your needs. 1 channel for your headphones and then route all other channels through the 2nd output. When setting up, use the setup wizard. After choosing the right options, it should do it automatically.
    This! Audio 2 from NI will be just fine for internal mixing. I use it with my MM1

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,412

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andyhl
    If I was to get an F1, how would decks C & D work with the Z1's 2 channels - would I simply route them through A & B, and control the volume via the F1 faders?
    Good question. That sounds like it would work...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  8. #8
    Tech Convert andyhl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Burgess Hill, UK
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    This! Audio 2 from NI will be just fine for internal mixing. I use it with my MM1
    Cheers man, just what I wanted to hear!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •