Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default Setting up DB2 + X1's

    Hey DJTT

    Currently I am using a DB2, traktor, and two x1's. The problem I am having is that no matter what the latency is (I've tried maxing it out) i run into problems with the occasional drop out. The Mac is from 2013 and is running Maverick.

    Is there anything I can do to get the system to run flawlessly?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    714

    Default

    Is there anything specific that you're doing which causes the dropouts? What applications do you have running? Have you made sure to quit out of everything? (This shouldn't be a problem, but will help eliminate one symptom)
    A&H Xone:62 | 2 x NI Kontrol X1 | 2 x 1210s | TSP2 | Apple Macbook Pro 13 inch | A&H Xone XD22 headphones
    talk: http://www.twitter.com/djs_life
    read: http://www.djworx.com
    listen: http://www.mixcloud.com/happydan

  3. #3

    Default

    Not specifically. Happens more when using computer functions such as browsing through songs with the arrow keys or using the search function. It'll happen occasionally when using the mixer.

    Could it be a USB cable problem? Im using the stock cables

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    162

    Default

    What drivers and firmware are you running? There were updates in July that you should be using.

    I have no issues running the same DB2 and a pair of X1mk2 but I've got an older Air with USB2.
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 2011 (USB2), 4GB, 128GB, 10.9.4
    Gig Gear - TSPro 2.6.8, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), CDJ2000NXS, Xone DB2 or DJM850 or Xone 92/TA10
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

  5. #5
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,124

    Default

    What sound card are you using? The x1 's won't be causing issues so it's more likely your sound card. Are you using the hack to gain scratch control through the DB2 soundcard?
    MacBook, HD25's, Pioneer DJM-T1 Midi-Fighter Classic, 2x Stanton CMP800

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Nick V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    200

    Default

    As a proud owner of a DB2, I have to say the drivers for the soundcard in that thing are junk (for mac at least). I am now using an external audio interface rather than trying to use the internal DB2. One thing it would do when I tried to use it was make a process which IIRC was "midi server" start eating up like half the processing power. If I killed that process, the audio would perform better but I couldn't use my maschine in midi mode. I could use the x1 though, I think because it does not communicate with traktor over midi and killing the midiserver process means no midi. I tried updating the drivers but basically it just locks up the mixer and pops up a message on the mac about being unable to install and to "contact my dealer"... thanks a lot. I still really enjoy the DB2 but the audio interface is a major downside for me.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I am an happy owner of a Xone db2... I run Traktor and Ableton Live in sync with the db2 soundcard and I have no issues... I have a MacBook Pro 13 late 2011 i7@2,8ghz, 8gb ram, ssd Kingston sata 3...

    The key is that you have to find the right driver and firmware, turn off the wifi and Bluetooth when you plug any soundcard, and if you have a MacBook Pro and are using an USB hub, you have to plug the soundcard directly to the Mac in the second USB from the power supply port... Or if you prefer, the first USB that you find from the headphone out... And the two x1s to the usb hub that needs to be powered with a power supply of at least 1 ampere (1,5 or 2 ampere is better)....

    Last, but not least use a professional USB cable... Like the Neo oyaide or the Dj TT cables that increase the sound quality and reduce the audio drop outs... I used both and I have no issues...

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pippo91 View Post
    I am an happy owner of a Xone db2... I run Traktor and Ableton Live in sync with the db2 soundcard and I have no issues... I have a MacBook Pro 13 late 2011 i7@2,8ghz, 8gb ram, ssd Kingston sata 3...

    The key is that you have to find the right driver and firmware, turn off the wifi and Bluetooth when you plug any soundcard, and if you have a MacBook Pro and are using an USB hub, you have to plug the soundcard directly to the Mac in the second USB from the power supply port... Or if you prefer, the first USB that you find from the headphone out... And the two x1s to the usb hub that needs to be powered with a power supply of at least 1 ampere (1,5 or 2 ampere is better)....

    Last, but not least use a professional USB cable... Like the Neo oyaide or the Dj TT cables that increase the sound quality and reduce the audio drop outs... I used both and I have no issues...
    Find the right driver and firmware ... Yes, I agree with that.

    Turn off wifi and bluetooth - nope, I even download tracks from my home ftp server while playing live at my gigs over a 4G internet connection without issues.

    Using a hub - DB2 works fine through a hub, and a passive hub at that, and I also run the pair of X1mk2 off it as well. Hell I even run the 4th port on the hub to a CDJ2000NXS ... If I use an F1 as well I'll normally run that off the other USB port.

    USB leads - yes I use some from DJTT but I also have plenty from places like Lindy and usbfirewire.com that work just as well ... And increase sound quality, not sure what you're smoking but it's digital and it's a 1 or a 0 passing through ... A USB cable can't increase the sound quality!

    Anyhow, mine runs fine with 48k 192 samples, and using the Bit Accurate driver in Traktor.
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 2011 (USB2), 4GB, 128GB, 10.9.4
    Gig Gear - TSPro 2.6.8, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), CDJ2000NXS, Xone DB2 or DJM850 or Xone 92/TA10
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •