USB3 - Hubs? Multi-TT???
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,344

    Default USB3 - Hubs? Multi-TT???

    Quick question to the tech heads out there:

    Has the USB3 protocol adressed the issue of multi tt vs. single tt hubs?

    Or do we digital DJ's still have the task of finding a decent USB3, multi tt hub???
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  2. #2
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,671

    Default

    And USB3 hub is better for DJ's than a USB2 because....?
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,344

    Default

    I'm not an USB expert, and the laptop I'm looking at buying has 4xUSB3.0 ports, so I'd also need a hub.

    Just asking if I still need to find a hub (USB2.0 or USB3.0) with multi tt.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Do you have USB 1.1 devices in your setup still? Transaction Translators only come into to play so 1.1 devices can talk to 2.0+ hubs. In the early USB 2.0 days, a hub would have a single TT, so a USB 1.1 device would drop the entire hub to 1.1 speeds. Multi-TT just means each port has its own translator available.

    You're probably all 2.0+, in which case traffic will pass straight through without translation. A USB 1.1 device today would be something like an old/favorite mouse you still have lying around, or something...

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,344

    Default

    I havea mouse and lb (both USB1.0) attached to my hub.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    20

    Default

    This answer covers some of the tech info:

    http://support.plugable.com/plugable..._into_the_same

    USB 3.0 hubs are basically two hubs on top of each other (the 3.0 and 2.0/1.1 functionality are handled by two separate chips literally wired to the same physical ports). So 1.1 devices won't affect 3.0 performance at all.

    It sounds like chipset makers don't even specify 1.1 performance considerations anymore, but it shouldn't be an issue:

    http://support.plugable.com/plugable...7_81x_multi_tt

    P.S. Plugable makes good hubs, and they're carried on Amazon, if you're looking for something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •