CDJ 850 / DJM 850 - Proc's & Con's?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default CDJ 850 / DJM 850 - Proc's & Con's?

So, been saving alot to get a CDJ setup.

I like Traktor, I currently have a Numark N4 & an F1 for remix decks / effects. But I have zero club CDJ experience, and of course the old debate of not being taken seriously if I was to rock up to a club with that setup is a major issue where I live. The only club near me that plays my style of music can be very hipstery / "vinyl only" / no controllers type people, even though I have the upmost respect for their views, and I can see where their coming from if they are of that generation and spent years collecting slabs of wax.

I was thinking of a CDJ 850 & DJM 850 setup as I could, should I wish incorporate Traktor for library & remix sets.

I'm just wondering has anyone any advice on this particular setup?

Is the CDJ 850 under rated? as I have read mixed reviews

Tech Mentor

I have to ask, why are you getting a CDJ setup? CDJ's are not really that much different from controllers. Ask a local club owner if you can have a go before they open or something or rent some for a midweek. There's no real need to own a CDJ setup IMO.

Tech Guru

I don't regret moving to CDJs at all.

That said, I'd take a controller over a CDJ850. CDJ850 is pretty barebones for what it costs. CDJ900 however may be worth it.

If they are very into vinyl, why not look into DVS?
    Bedroom DJ | Pioneer DJM-800 | Pioneer CDJ2000 and CDJ900-NXS | 2 x Mackie MR8MKII | Sennheiser Amperior

Schalenberg

I have CDJ 850s and a DJM 900, and boy do I miss my 900s Nexus. The waveform on the 850 is close to useless, but they're perfect for basic mixing. For Traktor use, I recommend saving yourself a ton of money by just buying an interface to hook up to the club setup.

Tech Guru

Yup... CDJ900 NXS is amazing. I've got one of those and a CDJ2000.

The zoom waveform spoils me so much.