Traktor Kontrol X1 question
    Tech Wizard

Default Traktor Kontrol X1 question

Just curious about the differences between the 1st gen and 2nd gen X1.

I finally made the jump from all vinyl to software last year. I'm using Traktor w/ my 1200s. Basically I would want the Kontrol so I don't have to reach for the laptop. Just scrolling through and loading tracks, setting loops, doing a few effect. Very basic stuff.

Would the 1st gen be fine for me? I've never used any type of controller before.
    Last edited by TMAS; 10-03-2014 at 07:46 AM.

Tech Mentor

Just google some photos, you'll see the difference. If you want basic you don't even need an X1. One of those cheap-ass Behringer controllers for instance will do the same for half the price.

DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar

I have had the Mk1 X1's for over 4 years. No desire whatsoever to get the newer version at this stage.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Tech Wizard

I've seen used ones on eBay for $100. After doing some more reading and watching that video, I think the Mk1 would be fine for my needs.

Although I never had the original X1 from the looks of it I prefer the non busy look of the mk2. I really like to touch strip on the mk2 a lot when using effects. And of course who dont like to have the latest technology, I keep saying one day I'm going to get a mk1 just to see the differences up front and personal. I would never swap my mk2 for the 1st gen though lol.
    Numark 4 Trak | VCI-400 | Fostex PM0.3 Bookshelf Monitors | The Triple Threat NI-F1, N1-X1-MK2, NI-Z1 | Serato DJ/Flip

I'm biased with only ever using the Mk2, but the Mk1 should be fine for your needs, especially as you already have DVS control via your turntables.