Simple USB crossfader?
    Tech Convert

Default Simple USB crossfader?

I'm an electronic musician and now have a bug to start DJing 80's music. My background is in audio engineering/mixing/editing. As far as DJ'ing: 0 practical experience.

At this point I just want to play around and learn. I'm not interested in turn-tables at the moment.

I'm trying to use what I have rather than buy a bunch of new stuff.

Ableton Live 9
    Ableton Push
    Midi-Fighter Twister.
    Midi-Fighter

What I feel that I'm missing to take care of the basics is a USB device with a crossfader. I might try the APC MkII once I feel I have some chops. $400 for yet another toy isn't practical at the moment. But for now I just want to play in my bedroom to an audience of a faithful houseplant.

Any advice on tutorials for newbs would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

What are you going to be using as sources?

If I were in your position, I'd seriously consider just using the Push and either DJ with Live or route the DJ app (e.g., Traktor) into it. If you're used to Live's Session workflow, that might be the easiest thing. And with 80s music, you'll also be able to "fix" the live drummers.

If you went that way, the way I'd set it up (at first) would be to distribute your clips into 4 groups and double them into tracks.

So, session would look like

song 1 - song 1 - song 4 - song 4 - song 7 - song 7 - song 10 - song 10
    song 2 - song 2 - song 5 - song 5 - song 8 - song 8 - song 11 - song 11
    song 3 - song 3 - song 6 - song 6 - song 9 - song 9 - song 12 - song 12
    etc.

for a start.

You can get from any track to any other track, and you could potentially go from one track to another part of the same track or layer-in a loop from a different part of the track to re-arrange the structure.

Or, you could chop them up more to do other things...but with "80s music" being the only descriptor, I'd be wary about that.