Traktor, vinyl control and external mode
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Traktor, vinyl control and external mode

Just got my Traktor Z2.

I've been spinning for 20+ years but I'm a digital DJ noob. Over the last few years I've been doing more production work than DJ work. My set up is based around 2 1210s a synths, drum machines (vst and hardware) and Ableton Live. I want be able to play vinyl and scratch with mp3s (still blows my mind how good this feels). I tend mix a range of hip hop, techno, d n b, and whatever.

The Z2 is is slick, but I'm really disappointed I can't use vinyl control with Traktor in external mode. I was hoping to route each deck to a separate Ableton track and integrate Traktor into my set up (DJing in Ableton is a buzz kill --- way too much preflight set up). Seems like the z2 isn't intended to integrate into a studio, basically it's a just a toy.

Can anyone suggest an affordable alternative? Right now I'm looking a used Denon x1600 for flexibility.

I have the x1600 mate and it is one fantastic, feature packed mixer. I would definitely recommend it.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

But it still won't do what you want.

That's a limitation of time code systems....you have to use their sound card (in your case, the z2) for the DVS software. You can't route the deck to Ableton first (in software).

There are ways to do what you want, but you can't do it with any mixer that has a traktor scratch sound card built in. The x1600 will work the same way.

What you'd have to do is use an NI A6 or A10 for traktor, route it's analog outputs into another set of inputs, which go into Ableton. Then, a separate set of outputs would go to your mixer.