pioneer DJM 800 traktor A6 interface
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor dj max bradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    vancouver, BC
    Posts
    203

    Default pioneer DJM 800 traktor A6 interface

    are the faders in a pioneer DJM 800 standard analog resistance faders? did you notice the latency issues with the main in and out with the traktor A6?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Im not too sure what you are asking here. The faders on the 800 are analog and if you are using the A6 to mix externally in Traktor, they really have no connection to the computer at all. The audio is running through the A6 via the RCA outs which means there is no type of digital/computer data running through the mixer.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor dj max bradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    vancouver, BC
    Posts
    203

    Default oh

    the pioneer DJM 800 is a digital mixer. it actually converts analog to digital. 96khrtz

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj max bradley View Post
    are the faders in a pioneer DJM 800 standard analog resistance faders? did you notice the latency issues with the main in and out with the traktor A6?
    I just had a quick look at the DJM800 and it doesnt appear to have any analog controls in the signal path.

    From the manual: The analog signal from the player passes through the shortest signal route, first digitized at 24bit/96kHz through a pro A/D converter where it reaches the digital mixing stage with the best sound possible..

    So yes in theory this should add latency to Traktor as you are adding another ADC conversion stage. But wether that latency is a problem is entirely up to your rig and your play style.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,673

    Default

    The latency introduced by soundcards is down to the Drivers / Software / CPU rather than the components inside them, a stage you will skip inside a mixer.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj max bradley View Post
    did you notice the latency
    I doubt anyone can hear/notice the latency - it's too small to even consider in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor dj max bradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    vancouver, BC
    Posts
    203

    Default main in out

    when you run your mixer back into the main imput of your A6 for recording if you put the the main out to the amp and try to mix there is a latency making it so you cant dj. set up properly traktor pro 2 has no latency even when set up to 1024 samples process buffer and 4 mila seconds USB buffer. what I am trying to do is use the main in and out for a FX send?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    The latency introduced by soundcards is down to the Drivers / Software / CPU rather than the components inside them, a stage you will skip inside a mixer.
    In a digital mixer, there is latency introduced by the conversion from sound input to digital, then sound output to analog.

    I can see an edge case where a turntablist using dvs can notice the added latency in really fast cuts, but I doubt it's a problem in practice.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj max bradley View Post
    when you run your mixer back into the main imput of your A6 for recording if you put the the main out to the amp and try to mix there is a latency making it so you cant dj. set up properly traktor pro 2 has no latency even when set up to 1024 samples process buffer and 4 mila seconds USB buffer. what I am trying to do is use the main in and out for a FX send?
    What you said is factually incorrect. It translates to "traktor has no latency when set up for a 1024 sample buffer and a 4ms UBS buffer" is equivalent to saying 0 = 27.22.

    The reason you're hearing more latency is the buffers and processing you're using for the send, not the DJM-800.
    Last edited by mostapha; 11-16-2014 at 06:02 PM.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor dj max bradley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    vancouver, BC
    Posts
    203

    Default

    um I do not know what to say. even while you turn up the latency while using controller vinyl and a A6 there is no difference. i am good at beat matching and i here nothing. traktor and serato are the same. it does not mater how you set them up when you touch the record it instantly moves the track in the computer. that's why they are so cool. they have that transition between vinyl to digital. the reason why i was hearing my headphones before my speakers was because the headphones were pre to the main out on the A6 witch does have latency.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •