A&H Xone 4D not initially detected in windows 8.1 each session.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    186

    Default A&H Xone 4D not initially detected in windows 8.1 each session.

    I have a problem that my 4D will not be detected properly, until the 4d has warmed up slightly (so the metal casing isn't cold to touch)
    I've tried different USB ports, uninstalling, reinstalling etc.

    I have updated the firmware for both midi and audio (which the midi has had to be upgraded using my tower running windows 7), and it still does not detect until it warms up slightly.
    this must be at least 10 minutes until it is detected properly.

    I have noticed it show for maybe less than a second in device manager of windows 8.1 till it has warmed up.

    I have tried different usb cables as well.

    Sometimes I can get static noise coming out when it boots up.

    Once it is detected it works perfectly fine, with both traktor and ableton, and a pair of 1200 mk2 technics vinyl decks

    My laptop is a Lenovo g510 core i7 8gb ram
    http://shop.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptops...g-series/g510/

    ideas anyone?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,456

    Default

    usb port would be my guess.
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    186

    Default

    tried all usb ports on my laptop.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrickdawson View Post
    I have a problem that my 4D will not be detected properly, until the 4d has warmed up slightly (so the metal casing isn't cold to touch)
    I've tried different USB ports, uninstalling, reinstalling etc.

    I have updated the firmware for both midi and audio (which the midi has had to be upgraded using my tower running windows 7), and it still does not detect until it warms up slightly.
    this must be at least 10 minutes until it is detected properly.

    I have noticed it show for maybe less than a second in device manager of windows 8.1 till it has warmed up.

    I have tried different usb cables as well.

    Sometimes I can get static noise coming out when it boots up.

    Once it is detected it works perfectly fine, with both traktor and ableton, and a pair of 1200 mk2 technics vinyl decks

    My laptop is a Lenovo g510 core i7 8gb ram
    http://shop.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptops...g-series/g510/

    ideas anyone?
    Id guess it was simply faulty. Get another computer and try to replicate the fault. It should be pretty clear where the fault lies.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    186

    Default

    everything else registers no problem.

    and my laptop is the only one with windows 8 (8.1) on it.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrickdawson View Post
    everything else registers no problem.

    and my laptop is the only one with windows 8 (8.1) on it.
    the version of windows is irrelevant to begin troubleshooting. What you are trying to determine first is if the Xone is faulty so you can rule it out. This is your first job. Why spend a week troubleshooting your computer when it could be the mixer?

    Rule out the big things first. Plug the Xone into another computer and try to replicate the problem. Youll now have some evidence to base your next tests.

    Youre assuming that your Xone problems were caused by the win/firmware upgrade, whereas it could have just had a simultaneous fault. It happens all the time in IT, which is why you cant make assumptions.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    186

    Default

    No, it isn't the firmware. I updated after I got the problem, to see if it would fix it, as these are listed windows 8, where as the previous drivers are not listed windows 8.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrickdawson View Post
    No, it isn't the firmware. I updated after I got the problem, to see if it would fix it, as these are listed windows 8, where as the previous drivers are not listed windows 8.
    Whatever. Ive spent a career troubleshooting PC problems, and Im trying to explain to you how to rule things out to get the quickest answer.

    Why ask for advice if youre going to argue about it?

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    186

    Default

    you assumed what I didn't assume.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djrickdawson View Post
    you assumed what I didn't assume.
    Youve made at least four untested assumptions that I can see.

    Feel free to argue with someone who was trying to help you. Im sure that will work out for you.

    You could have had a data point by now if you simply go and plug it in to another freaking computer and try to replicate the problem.

    I like people like you. I also like charging them a lot for things they could easily work out for themselves if they listened to my advice when its free.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •