How to get started producing music
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to get started producing music

Wassup everyone,

I'm a fair novice when it comes to producing music. I use Ableton and I've learned everything I know from Youtube videos. I'm extremely inspired to produce and "mimic" those tracks I love to hear or play in my DJ sets. I'm so far off making quality sounds, that I lose a lot of motivation to just keep playing around and learning things without someone there that can actually mentor me. I would love to take a class and learn how to, but those are waay too expensive. I know there's info out there that says to just 'learn your DAW', but there's so much more to it than that, like with plugins and VSTs. Then there's mastering your audio.

What are your suggestions as to how I can improve?

How should I approach this problem?

I've been stuck on this for about a year and a half now..

Hey Mr Business,

Welcome to the forum. Production is a complex science. Don't feel bad if you aren't getting to the level you want to be at quickly enough. To be honest, none of us do. We all throw things and swear and go through making a lot of bad tracks when we first learn.

Maybe you can elaborate a little bit on where your stuck. When you say "quality sounds", do you mean synthesized melodies? Drums? Or your tracks as a whole?

Maybe you can link something for feedback. I'm not a professional, but I've gone through your pain period, so I know how you feel.

Any questions you have, shoot them out.

https://soundcloud.com/synchronix

Take for example, building a quality riser. This is one of my biggest setbacks, is creating shifts like this from scratch. I can take a melody and chromatically rise it in a piano roll, but there's way more to it than that from scratch. And I mean from scratch, not using samples.

Another big thing for me is mastering audio. I can use a limiter to make sure my channels don't chip, and there's waay more to it than EQing it.